The Mad Adventures of

The Mad Adventures of "Rabbi" Jacob

Louis de Funès
Director: Gérard Oury Cast: Louis de Funès
Louis de Funès
, Marcel Dalio
Marcel Dalio
, Claude Giraud
Claude Giraud
Gérard Oury


$28.92 $29.99 Save 4% Current price is $28.92, Original price is $29.99. You Save 4%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


This comedy concentrates on the mishaps befalling bigoted Frenchman Louis DeFunes. While en route to his daughter's wedding, the outspoken DeFunes accidentally gets mixed up in an Arab nationalist uprising. Through a bizarre and nearly indescribable combination of events, the fiercely anti-Semitic DeFunes is forced to disguise himself as a Rabbi. The sociological statements in Mad Adventures of Rabbi Jacob, coscripted by director Gerard Oury, are pepped up with heavy slapstick. Initially titled The Adventures of Rabbi Jacob for its American release, this French film had the "Mad" tag attached when audiences evinced a lack of interest in what was perceived to be a religious picture.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/10/2019
UPC: 0850003924106
Original Release: 1973
Source: Film Movement
Region Code: 0
Time: 1:40:00
Sales rank: 13,212

Special Features

Interview with Co-Screenwriter Danièle Thompson; New essay by Author Phoebe Maltz Bovy

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Louis de Funès Victor
Marcel Dalio Rabbi Jacob
Claude Giraud Mohamed Larbi Slimane
Henri Guybet Salomon
André Falcon Actor
Jacques Francois The general
Jean Herbert Moishe
Miou-Miou Antoinette Pivert
Dominique Zardi Actor
Suzy Delair Germaine
Henry Guybert Salomon
Claude Piéplu Andreani
Janet Brandt Tzipe
Denise Provence Esther
Renzo Montagnani Fares

Technical Credits
Gérard Oury Director,Screenwriter
Vladimir Cosma Score Composer
Henri Decaë Cinematographer
Bertrand Javal Producer
Albert Jurgenson Editor
Danièle Thompson Screenwriter

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Mad Adventures of Rabbi Jacob
255. Chapters
1. The Rabbi Deports [7:14]
2. Sunday Driver [9:00]
3. Green Man [9:37]
4. Escape [6:00]
5. News Flash [9:22]
6. Mad Pursuit [8:01]
7. Disguise [8:32]
8. Welcome Rabbi Jacob [7:04]
9. Everybody Dance Now! [10:53]
10. Mad Hatters [8:43]
11. Mad Parade [9:25]
12. Credits [1:30]
13. Chapter 13 [:01]

Customer Reviews