The Missouri Traveler

The Missouri Traveler

Brandon de Wilde
Director: Jerry Hopper Cast: Brandon de Wilde
Brandon de Wilde
, Lee Marvin
Lee Marvin
, Gary Merrill
Gary Merrill
Jerry Hopper


$10.49 $14.99 Save 30% Current price is $10.49, Original price is $14.99. You Save 30%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Missouri Traveler was one of a handful of independent films distributed by Disney's Buena Vista corporation. Brandon De Wilde heads the cast as 15-year-old orphan boy Biarn Turner. Doing his best to survive in the rural South of the pre-WW1 years, Biarn is unofficially adopted by crusty small-town newspaper editor Doyle Magee (Gary Merrill). Also taking an interest in Biarn's future is wealthy self-made farmer Tobias Brown (Lee Marvin), whose apparently cruel treatment of the boy masks his genuine affection and concern. Highlights include an annual trotting race and a climactic set-to between Magee and Brown. The Missouri Traveller is based on the novel by John Burress.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/26/2015
UPC: 0089859879326
Original Release: 1958
Rating: NR
Source: Vci Video
Region Code: 0
Time: 1:43:00
Sales rank: 29,666

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Brandon DeWilde Brian Turner
Lee Marvin Tobias Brown
Gary Merrill Doyle Magee
Paul Ford Finas Daugherty
Mary Hosford Anna Love Price
Ken Curtis Fred Mueller
Frank Cady Willie Poole
Mary Field Nelda Hamilton
Kathleen Freeman Serena Poole
Will Wright Sheriff Peavy
Barry Curtis Jimmy Price
Eddie Little Red Poole
Rodney Bell Herb Davis
Helen Brown Hattie Neely
Earl Hodgins Old Sharecropper
Roy Jenson Simpson
William Newell Pos Neely

Technical Credits
Jerry Hopper Director
C. Frank Beetson Costumes/Costume Designer
Patrick Ford Producer
Norman Hall Screenwriter
Winton Hoch Cinematographer
Jack Marshall Score Composer
Tom McAdoo Editor
Jack Okey Art Director
Ann Peck Costumes/Costume Designer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Missouri Traveler
1. Chapter 1 [8:16]
2. Chapter 2 [8:56]
3. Chapter 3 [8:20]
4. Chapter 4 [7:29]
5. Chapter 5 [6:36]
6. Chapter 6 [10:23]
7. Chapter 7 [4:17]
8. Chapter 8 [8:38]
9. Chapter 9 [7:29]
10. Chapter 10 [9:59]
11. Chapter 11 [13:30]
12. Chapter 12 [9:35]
13. Chapter 13 [:04]

Customer Reviews