The Painted Stallion [Serial]

The Painted Stallion [Serial]

Hoot Gibson
Director: Alvin J. Neitz, Ray Taylor, William Witney
Cast: Hoot Gibson
Alvin J. Neitz, Ray Taylor, William Witney,

DVD (Black & White / Stereo)

$18.19 $19.99 Save 9% Current price is $18.19, Original price is $19.99. You Save 9%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Western favorites Ray "Crash" Corrigan and Hoot Gibson head the cast of the 12-chapter Republic serial The Painted Stallion. Corrigan plays American federal agent Steve Clark, on assignment in Santa Fe to draw up a trade agreement with the newly installed Mexican governor. Meanwhile, Walter Jamison (Hoot Gibson) leads a wagon train from Missouri, hoping to take advantage of the new agreement. Among Jamison's passenger are famed frontiersman Jim Bowie (Hal Taliaferro) and a very youthful Kit Carson (Sammy McKim). The destinies of all these personalities intersect when villainous ex-governor DuPrey (LeRoy Mason) schemes to undermine the treaty and take over the New Mexico territory for his own vile purposes. Somewhere along the way, Davy Crockett (Jack Perrin) joins the "good guys" in their efforts to thwart the despicable DuPrey. Years after the release of The Painted Stallion, film historian William K. Everson waxed rhapsodic over a particulary exciting chapter ending-then commented that he hoped never to see that particular ending again, just in case it proved to be less exciting than he remembered.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/27/2013
UPC: 0827421032133
Original Release: 1937
Source: Cheezy Flicks Ent
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [B&W]
Sound: [stereo, Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 3:32:00
Sales rank: 54,968

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Hoot Gibson Jamison
Sammy McKim Kit Carson
LeRoy Mason Escobedo
Jack Perrin Davy Crockett
Ray "Crash" Corrigan Clark Stuart
Hal Taliaferro Jim Bowie
Duncan Renaldo Zamorro
Julia Thayer The Rider
Yakima Canutt Tom
Maston Williams Macklis
Duke Taylor Joe
George de Normand Juan
Gordon de Main Governor
Charles King Bull Smith
Wally Wales Jim Bowie
Ed Platt Oscar
Lou Fulton Elmer

Technical Credits
Alvin J. Neitz Director
Ray Taylor Director
William Witney Director
Morgan Cox Screenwriter
Ronald Davidson Screenwriter
Hal G. Evarts Screenwriter
Karl Hajos Score Composer
Raoul Kraushaar Musical Direction/Supervision
Howard Lydecker Special Effects
Edgar Lyons Cinematographer
John Victor Mackay Art Director
Bob Mark Makeup
Winston Miller Screenwriter
William Nobles Cinematographer
Murray Seldeen Editor
Barry Shipman Screenwriter
Edward Todd Editor
Helene Turner Editor
J. Laurence Wickland Associate Producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Painted Stallion
1. Trail To Empire [27:39]
2. Rider of the Stallion [17:00]
3. The Death Leap [18:04]
4. Avalanche [17:10]
5. Valley of Death [16:39]
6. Thundering Wheels [17:45]
7. Trail Treachery [16:10]
8. The Whistling Arrow [16:24]
9. The Fatal Message [16:25]
10. Ambush [15:58]
11. Tunnel Of Terror [15:31]
12. Human Targets [16:55]

Customer Reviews