The Quare Fellow

The Quare Fellow

Patrick McGoohan
Director: Arthur Dreifuss Cast: Patrick McGoohan
Patrick McGoohan
, Sylvia Syms
Sylvia Syms
, Walter Macken
Walter Macken
Arthur Dreifuss


2 New & Used Starting at $17.02


Brendan Behan, the quixotic, eternally sloshed Irish poet/playwright, peppered his play The Quare Fellow with plenty of "gallows humor." The film version dispenses with most the play's morbid jests, leaving us with a grim, straightforward account of a Dublin death-row prison guard (Patrick McGoohan) and his growing empathy with two condemned prisoners. One could understand the removal of the play's comic elements had the film been made in timorous Hollywood. But since Quare Fellow was financed and produced in Ireland, it seems a inappropriately glum tribute to one of the country's boldest and most brilliant talents. Quare Fellow was directed by American "B" specialist Arthur Dreifuss, who also adapted Behan's play for the screen.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/09/2008
UPC: 0738329062026
Original Release: 1962
Source: Kino Lorber
Presentation: [B&W]
Time: 1:29:00
Sales rank: 67,978

Special Features

"Brendan Behan's Dublin"; ; Photo Gallery

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Patrick McGoohan Thomas Crimmin
Sylvia Syms Kathleen
Walter Macken Regan
Harry Brogan Dunlavin
Jack Cunningham Chief Warder
Dermot Kelly Donnelly
Hilton Edwards Holy Healy
Marie Kean Mrs. O'Hara
Philip O'Flynn Prison Governor
Leo McCabe Dr. Flyn
Pauline Delaney Mickser's wife
Geoffrey Golden 1st Customs Officer
Tom Irwin Customs Officer
Agnes Bernelle Meg
Dominic Roche Prison Chaplain
Arthur O'Sullivan Himself
Aubrey Morris Silvertop
Robert Bernal Mickser
John Welsh Carroll
Norman Rodway Lavery
Joseph O'Donnell Poet
Gerry Alexander Kelly
James Brennan Old Patriot
Brendan Cauldwell Shamrock Attendant
Marie Conmee Publican Woman
John Cowley Cleary
Eddie Golden Reception Warder
Eric Gorman Neighbour
Aiden Grennell Food Orderly
Michael C. Hennessy 2nd Publican
David Kelly Reception Clerk
T.P. McKenna Walsh
Derry Power Stretcher-Bearer
Charlie Roberts Dock Worker

Technical Credits
Arthur Dreifuss Director,Screenwriter
Alexander Faris Score Composer
Anthony Havelock-Allan Producer
Peter Hennessy Cinematographer
Ted Marshall Art Director
Jacqueline Sundstrom Screenwriter
Gitta Zadek Editor

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Quare Fellow
1. New Officer [9:10]
2. Ready For Duty [6:31]
3. The Bottle [9:10]
4. Inconsolable [5:37]
5. Tense Moment [3:01]
6. The Lucky Man [4:50]
7. Upholding the Law [8:13]
8. Truth is Told [7:36]
9. Hangman Arrives [9:37]
10. Time Slips Away [9:48]
11. No Reprieve [9:38]
12. Condemned [6:45]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews