This item is not eligible for coupon offers.

The Road to Wellville

The Road to Wellville

Alan Parker
 Cast: Alan Parker
Alan Parker
, Anthony Hopkins
Anthony Hopkins
, Bridget Fonda
Bridget Fonda
, Matthew Broderick
Matthew Broderick

Blu-ray (Wide Screen)

$20.34 $22.99 Save 12% Current price is $20.34, Original price is $22.99. You Save 12%.
Available for Pre-Order. This item will be available on June 23, 2020


This adaptation of the comic novel by T. Coraghessan Boyle is the story of real-life Corn Flakes inventor Dr. John Harvey Kellogg (Anthony Hopkins), an eccentric health nut in the early 20th century. Convinced of the benefits of holistic health practices (mostly involving irrigation of the bowels and colon), Kellogg opens a spa in Battle Creek, Michigan that immediately attracts the well-to-do of his time, including Will (Matthew Broderick) and Eleanor Lightbody (Bridget Fonda). A young couple with sexual and marital problems, the Lightbodys aren't helped much by the forced separation of sexes at Kellogg's sanitarium, and the situation is further exacerbated by Will's obliging nurse (Traci Lind) and Eleanor's encounters with a group of German sex therapists. Also at the spa are Charles Ossining (John Cusack), an ambitious con man who sees a fortune in Kellogg's cereal, and the unwashed, cretinous George Kellogg (Dana Carvey), one of the doctor's several dozen adopted children. A spoof as obsessed as its protagonist with its scatological subject matter, The Road to Wellville was an unusual effort for director-composer Alan Parker, known better for darker dramatic material and musicals.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/23/2020
UPC: 0826663201956
Original Release: 1994
Rating: R
Source: Shout Factory
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [DTS 5.1-Channel Surround Sound, Dolby AC-3 Surround Sound]
Time: 1:58:00
Sales rank: 48,146

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Anthony Hopkins Dr. John Harvey Kellogg
Bridget Fonda Eleanor Lightbody
Matthew Broderick Will Lightbody
John Cusack Charles Ossinging
Dana Carvey George Kellogg
Lara Flynn Boyle Ida Muntz
Michael Lerner Goodloe Bender
Colm Meaney Dr. Lionel Badger
John Neville Endymion Hart-Jones
Traci Lind Nurse Irene Graves
Camryn Manheim Virginia Cranehill
Roy Brocksmith Poultney Dab
Norbert Weisser Dr. Spitzvogel
Gabriel Barre Desk Clark
James Bigwood Reporter
Marshall Erwin Efron Bartholomew Bookbinder
Michael Goodwin Dr Frank Linniman
Mark Jeffrey Miller Woodbine
Marianne Muellerleile Nurse Bloethal
George Nannerello Reporter
Richard Olsen Fox Fur Man
Monica Parker Mrs Tindermarsh
D. Anthony Pender Waiter on Train
John Henry Scott Bath Attendant
Carole Shelley Mrs Hookstratten
Ann Tucker Hannah

Technical Credits
Alan Parker Director,Producer,Screenwriter
Marc Abraham Executive Producer
Armyan Bernstein Producer
Peter Biziou Cinematographer
Robert F. Colesberry Producer
Claudette Didul Set Decoration/Design
Richard Earl Art Director
Howard Feuer Casting
Peter Frampton Makeup
Gerry Hambling Editor
Peter Kohn Asst. Director
Alan E. Lorimer Special Effects
Lisa Moran Associate Producer
Brian Morris Production Designer
Rachel Portman Score Composer
Penny Rose Costumes/Costume Designer
Tom Rosenberg Executive Producer
Nelson Stoll Musical Direction/Supervision
Juliet Taylor Casting
John Willett Art Director
T. Coraghessan Boyle Source Author

Customer Reviews