The Spook Who Sat by the Door

The Spook Who Sat by the Door

Harold Harris
Director: Ivan Dixon Cast: Harold Harris
Harold Harris
, Doug Johnson
Doug Johnson
, Johnny Johnston
Johnny Johnston
Ivan Dixon


$18.32 $19.99 Save 8% Current price is $18.32, Original price is $19.99. You Save 8%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Sam Greenlee's cult favorite novel of political unrest was brought to the screen in this drama, which also earned a small but loyal following. A congressman hoping to attract African-American voters during an election year decides to make political hay by pointing out that the Central Intelligence Agency has no black agents. Bowing to subsequent public pressure, the CIA admits a number of black applicants to their training program, but they purposefully make the process difficult and unpleasant enough to winnow out nearly all the African-American students. Dan Freeman (Lawrence Cook), a strong, intelligent but soft-spoken man, somehow makes it through the gauntlet to become the black CIA agent; however, rather than being given important field assignments, Freeman is put in charge of the agency's copying machines and gives tours of their facilities to give the offices a progressive front for visitors. After a few years, Freeman leaves the agency to move back to his hometown of Chicago and do work with the least that's what he tells his superiors. In fact, Freeman has used his time at the CIA collecting information on how to launch a political revolution, and not long after he arrives in the Windy City, he begins recruiting an army of leftist radicals and black nationalists fed up with the system. With their help, Freeman launches the first stage of an armed revolt with the stated goal of bringing the white-dominated power structure to its knees. The Spook Who Sat by the Door was a rare feature directorial assignment for Ivan Dixon, best known as an actor (he played Sgt. "Kinch" Kinchloe on Hogan's Heroes), Dixon has an extensive resume of directorial credits, but primarily in episodic television. Spook is his second theatrical release.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/27/2004
UPC: 0723952076595
Original Release: 1973
Rating: PG
Source: Monarch Video
Time: 1:42:00
Sales rank: 5,053

Special Features

Introduction by USA Today columnist DeWayne Wickham; One on One with writer Sam Greenlee; Robert Townsend commentary; Original theatrical trailer; Original TV commercials

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Harold Harris Actor
Johnson Actor
Johnny Johnston Actor
Larry Lawrence Actor
James Mitchell Actor
Tom Alderman Security Officer
Kathy Berk Doris
Colostine Boatwright Dancer
Sidney Eden Inspector
Frank E. Ford Actor
Robert Franklia Actor
Martin Golar Perkins
Don Greenlee Actor
Jeff Hamilton Policeman
Jim Heard Actor
Virgie Johnson Actor
David Lemieux Pretty Willie
Frank Lesley Commentator
Tyrone Livingston Actor
Walter Lowe Actor
Clinton Malcome Actor
Rodney McGrader Actor
Ponciano Olayta Soo
Kenneth Lee Orme Actor
Audrey Stevenson Mrs. Duncan
Orlanders Thomas Actor
Perry Thomas Actor
Maurice Wicks Actor
Bobbie Gene Williams Actor
Lenard Norris Actor
Cora Williams Actor
Mark Williams Actor
Larry Cook Dan Freeman
Ernie Robinson Actor
Don Blakely Stud Davis
John Charles Stew
Stephen Ferry Colonel
Beverly Gill Willa
Harold C. Johnson Jackson
Joe Mascolo Senator
Anthony Ray Shorty
Bob Hill Calhoun
Johnny Williams Waiter
Paula Kelly Dahomey Queen
Janet League Joy
J.A. Preston Dawson
Paul Butler Do-Daddy Dean
Jack Aaron Carstairs
Byron Morrow General

Technical Credits
Ivan Dixon Director,Producer
Melvin Clay Screenwriter
Sam Greenlee Producer,Screenwriter
Herbie Hancock Score Composer
Michel Hugo Cinematographer
Michael Kahn Editor
Cheryal Kearney Set Decoration/Design
Henry Salley Costumes/Costume Designer
John Speak Sound/Sound Designer
Leslie Thomas Art Director

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. Special Commentary [3:58]
2. Give It to Me Straight [2:17]
3. Testing and Training [6:07]
4. Freeman [14:47]
5. Congratulations [2:31]
6. Let's Say Goodbye Right [1:58]
7. Freeman's Leaving Us [2:21]
8. Back in Chicago [3:01]
9. I Can Show You How [5:51]
10. Dawson's Back [4:20]
11. The Next Stage of Your Training [1:23]
12. Minister of Information [6:20]
13. Infiltration [4:26]
14. Nightmare [3:01]
15. Brains and Guts [5:38]
16. We Can Paralyze This Country [1:47]
17. Shorty's Dead [7:51]
18. Last Three Nights [4:02]
19. Gotta Go [2:13]
20. A Little Trip [5:45]
21. The Russians [2:22]
22. Baby Be Careful [2:57]
23. The Revolution [9:51]
24. Credits [1:10]

Customer Reviews