The Turn of the Screw: Masterpiece Theatre

The Turn of the Screw: Masterpiece Theatre

Director: Ben Bolt Cast: Jodhi May, Pam Ferris, Colin Firth



This adaptation of the classic novel by Henry James, produced for British television and shown in the United States as part of PBS's Masterpiece Theatre series, stars Jodhi May as Miss, a young woman hired as a governess by the Master (Colin Firth), a charming but mysterious man who wants Miss to care for his two children, with the unusual stipulation that she have no contact with him. Despite this edict, Miss becomes infatuated with the Master and comes to enjoy her work; the children are good-natured and fun to care for, and she makes a good friend in housekeeper Mrs. Grose (Pam Ferris). But, one day, she sees something strange in the house: the ghost of Peter Quint (Jason Salkey), the Master's former valet, who died under mysterious circumstances. Miss learns that her predecessor as governess, Miss Jessel (Caroline Pegg), also drowned, in an incident that raised many questions, with some believing the Master to blame. Miss learns that the children can see the ghosts too, though most adults cannot, and she fears that she has fallen into a situation of grave danger. The Turn of the Screw was directed by Ben Bolt, whose previous television experience includes the series Prime Suspect and An Unsuitable Job for a Woman.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/13/2004
UPC: 0783421339392
Original Release: 1999
Rating: NR
Source: Wgbh
Time: 2:00:00

Special Features

Closed Caption; Scene selection; Access to the ExxonMobil Masterpiece Theatre; Website; Closed captions

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Jodhi May Actor
Pam Ferris Actor
Colin Firth Actor
Jenny Howe Actor
Caroline Pegg Actor
Grace Robinson Actor
Jason Salkey Actor
Joe Sowerbutts Actor

Technical Credits
Ben Bolt Director
Michele Buck Executive Producer
Pat Campbell Production Designer
Nick Dear Screenwriter
Helga Dowie Associate Producer
Adrian Johnston Score Composer
Sheena Napier Costumes/Costume Designer
David Odd Cinematographer
Martin Pope Producer
Roseanne Samuel Makeup
Tim Vaughan Executive Producer
Henry James Source Author

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. The New Governess [11:48]
2. Arriving at Bly [10:16]
3. The Mystery Grows [11:46]
4. Protecting the Children [9:09]
5. Nighttime Visits [12:59]
6. The Wickedness of Miles [10:43]
7. Flora Is Removed [9:56]
8. The True Nature of Evil [10:01]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews