This item is not eligible for coupon offers.

Thirty Seconds over Tokyo

Thirty Seconds over Tokyo

Van Johnson
Director: Mervyn LeRoy Cast: Van Johnson
Van Johnson
, Robert Walker
Robert Walker
, Phyllis Thaxter
Phyllis Thaxter
Mervyn LeRoy

DVD (Full Frame)

$15.99 $19.99 Save 20% Current price is $15.99, Original price is $19.99. You Save 20%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Billed third in the 1944 Mervyn LeRoy drama Thirty Seconds over Tokyo, Spencer Tracy plays Lt. Col. James P. Doolittle, who led the 1942 Tokyo bombing raid that came in response to the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor. Most of the footage concerns pilot Ted Lawson (Van Johnson), who loses a leg while escaping from China after the attack, and was the author of the book that was developed into the film (Dalton Trumbo wrote the screenplay). Other subplots concern the meticulous preparations for the raid, and the individual exploits of those Doolittle flyers who crashed into the sea or were captured by the Japanese. The film earned the 1945 Academy Award for Special Effects.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/05/2007
UPC: 0012569797116
Original Release: 1944
Rating: PG-13
Source: Warner Home Video
Region Code: 1
Time: 2:19:00
Sales rank: 2,214

Special Features

Academy Award-Nominated Pete Smith Specialy Short Movie Pests; Vintage Passing Parade Short A Lady Fights Back; Classic Cartoon Bear Raid Warden; Theatrical Trailer; Subtitles: English & Français (Feature Film Only).

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Van Johnson Capt. Ted W. Lawson
Robert Walker David Thatcher
Phyllis Thaxter Ellen Jones Lawson
Tim Murdock Dean Davenport
Scott McKay Davey Jones
Robert Mitchum Bob Gray
Gordon McDonald Bob Clever
Spencer Tracy Lt. Col. James H. Doolittle
Don DeFore Charles McClure
John R. Reilly Shorty Manch
Stephen McNally Doc White
Donald Curtis Lt. Randall
Louis Jean Heydt Lt. Miller
William "Bill" Phillips Don Smith
Douglas Cowan Brick Holstrom
Paul Langton Capt. Ski York
Leon Ames Lt. Cmdr. Jurika
Morris Ankrum Capt. Halsey
Robert Bice Jig White
Steve Brodie M.P.
Hazel Brooks Actor
Wally Cassell Sailor
Ching Wah Lee Guerrilla Charlie
Myrna Dell Actor
Blake Edwards Second Officer
Benson Fong Young Chung
Harry Hayden Judge
John Kellogg Pilot
Peggy Maley Actor
Dorothy Morris Jane
Alan Napier Mr. Parker
Jay Norris Hallmark
Moroni Olsen General
Selena Royle Mrs. Jones
Elaine Shepard Actor
Ann Shoemaker Mrs. Parker
Wah Lee Foo Ling
Jacqueline White Emmy York
Bill Williams Bud Felton
Kay Williams Girls in Officers' Club
Jack McClendon Dick Joyce
Peter Varney Spike Henderson
June Allyson Actor

Technical Credits
Mervyn LeRoy Director
Cedric Gibbons Art Director
Arnold A. Gillespie Special Effects
Paul Groesse Art Director
Ralph S. Hurst Set Decoration/Design
Donald Jahraus Special Effects
Warren Newcombe Special Effects
Harold Hal Rosson Cinematographer
Herbert Stothart Score Composer
Frank Sullivan Editor
Robert Surtees Cinematographer
Dalton Trumbo Screenwriter
Edwin B. Willis Set Decoration/Design
Sam Zimbalist Producer

Customer Reviews