Weird Science

Weird Science

Anthony Michael Hall
Director: John Hughes Cast: Anthony Michael Hall
Anthony Michael Hall
, Ilan Mitchell-Smith
Ilan Mitchell-Smith
, Kelly LeBrock
Kelly LeBrock
John Hughes

DVD (Special Edition / Wide Screen / Slip Sleeve)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


John Hughes' third directorial effort, Weird Science, follows in the tradition of his previous teen-centered films, Sixteen Candles and The Breakfast Club. Anthony Michael Hall and Ilan Mitchell-Smith play the wannabe hipster Gary and his nebbish weak-willed best friend, Wyatt, a pair of high-school geeks who are hapless with members of the opposite sex. Using Wyatt's computer, they create what they believe is the ideal woman. A lightning storm brings that woman to life, and she takes the form of Kelly Le Brock. Lisa sets about building their self-confidence, but trouble begins brewing when Wyatt's cruel, military-minded older brother, Chet (Bill Paxton), begins to realize that something is not as it should be. Hughes would finish his cycle of high-school themed films with his next movie, Ferris Bueller's Day Off. ~ Perry Seibert, All Movie Guide

Product Details

Release Date: 09/16/2008
UPC: 0025195025331
Original Release: 1985
Rating: PG-13
Source: Universal Studios
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [DTS 5.1-Channel Surround Sound]
Time: 1:34:00
Sales rank: 7,601

Special Features

It's Alive Resurrecting Weird Science - Stars Anthony Michael Hall and John Kapelos reflect on the making of Weird Science in this 4-part retrospective documentary! Take an inside look at the music, fashion and hilarious characters in the teen comedy about everyone's favorite computer nerds; Weird Science tv pilot episode: "She's Alive"; Theatrical trailer

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Anthony Michael Hall Gary
Ilan Mitchell-Smith Wyatt
Kelly LeBrock Lisa
Bill Paxton Chet Donnelly
Suzanne Snyder Deb
Judie Aronson Hilly
Robert Downey Ian
Robert Rusler Max
Jackie Burch Actor
Syzy J. Kellems Gymnast
Vince Monroe Townsend Bar Patron
Chino "Fats" Williams Bar Patron
Vernon Wells Lord General
Britt Leach Al
Barbara Lang Lucy
Michael Berryman Mutant Biker
Ivor Barry Henry
Anne Bernadette Coyle Carmen
John Kapelos Candy Bar Owner
Jill Whitlow Perfume Salesgirl
Theodocia Goodrich Lingerie Saleswoman
Wally Ward Weenie
Johnny Timko Weenie
Mikul Robins Weenie
Darren Harris Weenie
Renee Props Weenie
Michael Cramer Weenie
Todd Hoffman Weenie
D'Mitch Davis Bartender
Mary Steelsmith Girl in Bathroom
Robin Frohman Girl in Bathroom
Alison Carole Lowe Girl in Upside Down Bathroom
Kym Malin Girl Playing Piano
Jennifer Balgobin Biker Girl
Jeff Jensen Metal Face
Prince Hughes Party Guest
Rick LeFevour Policeman
Rock Walker Policeman
Joe Gieb Blob Operator
Kevin Thompson Blob Operator
Doug MacHugh Wyatt's Father
Pamela Gordon Wyatt's Mother
Phillip Borsos Candy Bar Owner (uncredited)
Fred D. Scott Bar Patron
Steve James Guy at Table

Technical Credits
John Hughes Director,Producer,Screenwriter
James Alexander Sound/Sound Designer
James Allen Art Director
David M. Blitstein Special Effects
Jackie Burch Casting
John W. Corso Production Designer
Jerry Evans Choreography
Michael Germain Makeup
Doug Hubbard Special Effects
Chris Lebenzon Editor
Henry M. Lebo Camera Operator
Matthew Leonetti Cinematographer
Roger Lifsey Special Effects
Henry Millar Special Effects
Mike Millar Special Effects
Nick Navarro Set Decoration/Design
Ira Newborn Score Composer
Jennifer Polito Set Decoration/Design
Joel Silver Producer
Michael St. Hilaire Camera Operator
Richard Thompson Special Effects
Marilyn Vance Costumes/Costume Designer
Scott James Wallace Editor
Mark Warner Editor

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Weird Science
1. Women Everywhere [2:25]
2. Main Titles [1:15]
3. To Simulate a Girl [6:50]
4. Cyber Babe [3:47]
5. On the Town [8:06]
6. One Serious Idiot [4:48]
7. The Morning After [3:39]
8. At the Mall [5:44]
9. Gentle Persuasion [6:14]
10. Party! [7:32]
11. Scientific Breakthrough [6:14]
12. Uninvited Guests [3:38]
13. In the Mood [9:30]
14. Here Comes Chet [2:45]
15. Land Speed Record [5:46]
16. Chet Happens [3:46]
17. Nick of Time [2:56]
18. End Titles [4:46]

Customer Reviews