Zahari Baharov
Director: Javor Gardev Cast: Zahari Baharov
Zahari Baharov
, Tanya Ilieva
Tanya Ilieva
, Vladimir Penev
Vladimir Penev
Javor Gardev


2 New & Used Starting at $20.09


Director Javor Gardev and cinematographer Emil Christov collaborate to craft this atmospheric parable about justice, freedom, and social change disguised as a stylized neo-noir thriller following a recently released murder convict as he attempts to navigate totalitarian Sofia of the 1960s. Wrongly convicted of murder and thrown into prison just before the Bulgarian Communist coup of 1944, The Moth is subsequently released and cleared of any wrongdoing. But the world he's about to enter is a far cry from the world he once left behind, because now the Communist state is in full effect. At first optimistic as he navigates gloomy neighborhoods and decaying streets while contending with bizarre developments, eccentric characters on the margins of society, and a passionate former flame, The Moth eventually runs afoul of the Communist state as he is steady drawn towards the flame of catastrophe.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/13/2010
UPC: 0030306972794
Original Release: 2008
Rating: NR
Source: Ifc Independent Film
Region Code: 1
Time: 1:34:00

Special Features


Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Zahari Baharov Moth
Tanya Ilieva Actor
Vladimir Penev Actor
Mihail Mutafov Actor
Djocko Rossitch Actor

Technical Credits
Javor Gardev Director
Kevork Aslanyan Editor
Emil Christov Cinematographer
Georgi Dimitrov Producer
Ilian Djevelekov Producer
Vladislav Godorov Screenwriter
Stefan Goranov Executive Producer
Emil Hristov Cinematographer
Matey Konstantinov Producer
Petko Manchev Sound/Sound Designer
Kalin Nikolov Score Composer
Vladislav Todorov Screenwriter
Nikola Toromanov Production Designer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Zift
1. Opening Credits [3:26]
2. Prison Life [7:23]
3. Strip [6:15]
4. Love Letters and Eyeballs [7:16]
5. Moth and the Mantis [7:03]
6. A Diamond [4:34]
7. Good Friend Gone [6:29]
8. Bathouse [5:19]
9. "I'm An Actor" [6:25]
10. The 8th [6:15]
11. Father's Help [6:35]
12. Singer In A Bar [5:46]
13. Scene of the Crime [4:44]
14. Child's Grave [5:55]
15. Revenge [3:22]
16. End Credits [7:36]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews