Echoes of Indiana Avenue

Echoes of Indiana Avenue

by Wes MontgomeryWes Montgomery


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Let's put the hook in right from the jump: Echoes of Indiana Avenue is perhaps the most significant release of previously unissued material by a major jazz artist since the The Thelonious Monk Quartet with John Coltrane: At Carnegie Hall appeared in 2005. That's not hyperbole. These tapes, which consist of two live recordings and one studio demo, were cut, presumably, between 1957 and 1958, with various groupings of musicians, including his brothers Monk and Buddy, as well as pianist Earl Van Riper and bassist Mingo Jones. All of the tunes here are now regarded as standards, but some were current then, freshly added in that era, such as Shorty Rogers' "Diablo's Dance," Horace Silver's "Nica's Dream," and perhaps most importantly, Thelonious Monk's "'Round Midnight" and "Straight No Chaser." The former, recorded in an organ trio format with Melvin Rhyne on the B-3 and Paul Parker on drums, reveals, even at this early date, how well-developed Montgomery's improvisational language was. His reverent opening is ever so gradually replaced by a shimmering movement toward something approaching early soul-jazz, yet his ability to use the instrument's tonal subtleties and harmonic possibilities add a very different dimension to its harmonic architecture. (And while he recorded it several times during his all-too-brief life, this version is the earliest one we now have of him.) The hard swinging "Take the 'A' Train" showcases the already distinctive and innovative voicings on the bass strings Montgomery developed. These examples aside, there isn't a weak or middling moment throughout the proceedings. At this early date as a leader, Montgomery was in command, pushing hard at the Charlie Christian-isms that dominated his playing with Lionel Hampton. Sound quality can be a tiny bit rough in places, but it hardly matters when the material is this fine.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/13/2012
Label: Resonance Records
UPC: 0724101955624
catalogNumber: 2011
Rank: 174765

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Wes Montgomery   Primary Artist,Guitar
Buddy Montgomery   Piano
Melvin Rhyne   Organ,Piano
Earl Van Riper   Piano
Monk Montgomery   Bass
Sonny Johnson   Drums
Paul Parker   Drums
Mingo Jones   Bass

Technical Credits

Erroll Garner   Composer
Pat Martino   Liner Notes
Buddy Montgomery   Liner Notes
Horace Silver   Composer
Monk Montgomery   Liner Notes
Shorty Rogers   Composer
Zev Feldman   Producer
Michael Cuscuna   Liner Notes,Executive Producer
Eddie DeLange   Composer
Johnny Green   Composer
Edward Heyman   Composer
George Klabin   Executive Producer
Thelonious Monk   Composer
Dan Morgenstern   Liner Notes
Billy Strayhorn   Composer
James Van Heusen   Composer
Bill Milkowski   Liner Notes
Burton Yount   Art Direction
Duncan P. Scheidt   Cover Photo
David Baker   Liner Notes
Ann Montgomery   Photo Courtesy

Customer Reviews