Electric Blue Watermelon

Electric Blue Watermelon

by North Mississippi AllstarsNorth Mississippi Allstars




This trio have never actually strayed all that far from their roots in the deepest Delta, but on this disc, the Allstars really snake those tributaries deep into the dark, fertile soil of their home state. Naturally enough, that means paying a great deal of attention to the region's indigenous blues strains -- as on the purposefully murky, electrified take on Charley Patton's "Mississippi Boll Weevil." On that track, tendrils of Luther Dickinson's guitar creep through the shuffling rhythms like kudzu growing up the side of a shotgun shack. A similar dirt road vibe permeates "Bang Bang Lulu," a hill country traditional that's given an extra dose of moonshine-fueled libidinousness by new lyrics woven in by Dickinson and his drummer brother Cody. The Allstars cast their net past the reach of the juke joints this time around, however. On "No Mo," for instance, they bring in Memphis rapper Al Kapone, whose languid drawl combines with Dickinson's slide guitar to make a stingingly fiery sonic gumbo. Lucinda Williams brings more of a slow burn to "Hurry Up Sunrise," a closing-time duet that recalls the classic pairings of Loretta Lynn and Conway Twitty. Concise, flab-free, and more back-to-basics than anything the Allstars have mustered since their debut, Electric Blue Watermelon lays a stoned soul picnic that'll set those synapses ablaze.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/06/2005
Label: Ato Records
UPC: 0880882154127
catalogNumber: 21541

Album Credits

Performance Credits

North Mississippi Allstars   Primary Artist
Jimmie Davis   Guest Appearance
Lucinda Williams   Guest Appearance
Revert Andrews   Guest Appearance
Jim Crosthwait   Guest Appearance
Kevin Bruce Harris   Guest Appearance
Roger Lewis   Guest Appearance
Susan Marshall   Guest Appearance
Jim Spake   Guest Appearance
John Stubblefield   Guest Appearance
Harold Thomas   Guest Appearance
Efrem Towns   Guest Appearance
Robert Tex Wrightsil   Guest Appearance
East Memphis Slim   Guest Appearance
Kapone   Guest Appearance
Steve Selvidge   Guest Appearance
Jimbo Mathus   Guest Appearance
Julius McKee   Guest Appearance
Terence Higgins   Guest Appearance
Chris Chew   Bass,Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Luther Dickinson   Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Cody Dickinson   Drums,Group Member
Robert Randolph   Guest Appearance
Ben Nichols   Guest Appearance
Otha Andre Evans   Guest Appearance
Aubrey Turner   Guest Appearance
Mary Lindsay Dickinson   Guest Appearance
Whitney Jefferson   Guest Appearance
Sharde Turner   Guest Appearance
R.L. Boyce   Guest Appearance
Rod Evans   Guest Appearance
Otha Turner   Guest Appearance

Technical Credits

Charley Patton   Composer
Lee Baker   Composer
James Luther Dickinson   Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Robert Hall   Drum Technician
Roland Janes   Engineer
Jeff Powell   Engineer
Kapone   Composer
Odetta Felious Gordon   Composer
Pete Matthews   Engineer
Duwayne Burnside   Composer
Kevin Houston   Engineer
North Mississippi Allstars   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Luther Dickinson   Composer
Jason Hatcher   Drum Technician
Brandon Raines   Guitar Techician
Tom Foster   Artwork,Paintings,Animation
Little Lorenzo   Liner Notes
Otha Turner   Composer

Customer Reviews