ELO II [UK Bonus Tracks]

ELO II [UK Bonus Tracks]

by Electric Light OrchestraElectric Light Orchestra


$19.94 $20.99 Save 5% Current price is $19.94, Original price is $20.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, April 2


Cut during the fall of 1972, Electric Light Orchestra II was where Jeff Lynne started rebuilding the sound of Electric Light Orchestra following the departure of Roy Wood from the original lineup. It was as personal an effort as Lynne had ever made in music, showcasing his work as singer, songwriter, guitarist, sometime synthesizer player, and producer, and it is more focused than its predecessor but also retains some of the earlier album's lean textures. Lynne, drummer Bev Bevan, bassist Michael d'Albuquerque, and keyboardist Richard Tandy comprise the core of the band, with two cellists and a violinist sawing away around them. There were holes in their sound that made the group seem somewhat ragged, as on the pounding "In Old England Town (Boogie No. 2)"; Lynne's singing would also have to develop, and some of the material also showed the need of an editor. On the other hand, "From the Sun to the World (Boogie No. 1)" was a succinct progressive rock workout, and "Kuiama" was a decent showcase for the different sides of the group that worked about as well as any 11-minute prog rock track of the period. But the very fact that the group's cover of "Roll Over Beethoven" was the hit off of this album also showed how far Lynne had to go as a songwriter -- there's nothing else here one-half as good as that as a song, and the fact that the band attacked it like a buzzsaw made it one of the most bracing pieces of prog rock to make the charts. As a patchwork job, the album holds up well, and it and the single did go a long way toward getting them the beginnings of an audience in America. [ELO 2 was subsequently reissued by EMI in the U.K. with eight bonus tracks, including five tracks that were previously unreleased.]

Product Details

Release Date: 03/01/2005
Label: Emi Europe Generic
UPC: 0724354332920
catalogNumber: 543329
Rank: 59667

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Electric Light Orchestra, Part II   Primary Artist
Jeff Lynne   Guitar,Harmonium,Vocals,Moog Synthesizer
Michael d'Albuquerque   Bass,Vocal Harmony
Roy Wood   Cello,Bass Guitar
Marc Bolan   Guitar
Bev Bevan   Percussion,Drums
Wilfred Gibson   Violin
Richard Tandy   Guitar,Piano,Harmonium,Moog Synthesizer,Vocal Harmony
Colin Walker   Cello
Mike Edwards   Cello

Technical Credits

Chuck Berry   Composer
Jeff Lynne   Composer,Producer,Liner Notes
Marc Bolan   Images
Denny Bridges   Engineer
John Middleton   Engineer
Richard Tandy   Images
Gill   Artwork
Hipgnosis   Cover Design
Eddie Reed   Images
Rob Caiger   Producer
Cary Anning   Tape Research
Ian Pickavance   Tape Research

Customer Reviews