Elephunk [Bonus Track]

Elephunk [Bonus Track]

by The Black Eyed PeasThe Black Eyed Peas

CD(Bonus Tracks)

View All Available Formats & Editions


Nominally a rap group, in truth Black Eyed Peas call on so many forms of songwriting and production that slotting them into hip-hop is like slotting Prince into R&B -- technically true, but very limiting. Elephunk, the group's third straight winning LP, doesn't have top-notch rapping, but as driven by frontman Will.I.Am, it does possess some of the most boundary-pushing productions in contemporary, (mostly) uncommercial hip-hop -- right up at the level occupied by Common and OutKast. The smart, brassy opening club thump "Hands Up" hits another level with a sly bridge flaunting some heavy metallic slide guitar, while the highly pressurized love jam "Shut Up" features great interplay between Taboo and new member Fergie. Space doesn't allow for description of each track, but suffice to say any Will.I.Am track is going to feature loads of ideas and fresh sounds, not to mention plenty of stylistic change-ups -- from the digital-step ragga of "Hey Mama" (featuring Tippa Irie) to the Latinized, loved-up "Latin Girls." Like a latter-day Digital Underground, Black Eyed Peas know how to get a party track moving, and add a crazy stupid rhyme or two ("bop your head like epilepsy" from the suitably titled "Let's Get Retarded"). [The album was also released with a bonus track, "Let's Get It Started."]

Product Details

Release Date: 05/26/2004
Label: A&M
UPC: 0602498628089
catalogNumber: 000285402

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Black Eyed Peas   Primary Artist
Sergio Mendes   Piano
Tippa Irie   Vocals
Ron Fair   Piano,Conductor
Taboo   Vocals
J. Curtis   Guitar
Sergio Mendez   Piano
will.i.am   Vocals,Moog Synthesizer
George Pajon   Guitar
Mike Fratantuno   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Bass Guitar,Guitarron,Upright Bass
Terry Dexter   Background Vocals
Justin Timberlake   Vocals
Tobin   Bass,Guitar
Printz Board   Trumpet,Horn,Clavinet,Moog Synthesizer,Group Member
apl.de.ap   Vocals
Dave Buckner   Drums
Jacoby Shaddix   Vocals
Terence Yoshiaki   Drums
Tim Izo Orindgreff   Flute,Horn,Saxophone,Group Member
Chuck Prada   Percussion
Dante Santiago   Background Vocals
Noelle Scaggs   Background Vocals
Ray Brady   Guitar
Fergie   Vocals
Elizabeth Lea   Trombone
Debi Nova   Vocals
Davey Chegwidden   Conga,Shaker
Jamie Gomez   Vocals
Keith Harris   Drums

Technical Credits

Vinícius de Moraes   Composer
Billy May   Composer
Phelps "Catfish" Collins   Composer
Ron Fair   Producer,Executive Producer,String Arrangements,Audio Production,Vocal Producer
Johnny Griggs   Composer
Antonio Carlos Jobim   Composer
David Sonenberg   Management
Frank Wolf   Engineer
J. Curtis   Composer
Fred Davis   Legal Advisor
Anthony Henry   Composer
will.i.am   drum programming,Audio Production
George Pajon   Composer
Mike Fratantuno   Composer
Justin Timberlake   Composer
Printz Board   Composer
Jean Baptiste   Composer
Dylan Dresdow   Engineer
Papa Roach   Composer
Tal Herzberg   Engineer
apl.de.ap   Producer,drum programming,Audio Production
Seth Friedman   Management
Terence Yoshiaki   Composer
Jun Ishizeki   Engineer
Allen Pineda   Composer
John Stephens   Composer
Jason Villaroman   Engineer
Ray Brady   Composer
Christian Clancy   Marketing
Horndogs   Contributor
Jaime A. Dávila "Tame" Gómez   Composer
Lee Groves   Programming
BLK   Art Direction
Debi Nova   Composer
Allan Pineda   Composer
William Adams   Composer

Customer Reviews