Every Color

Every Color

by Erin Eitter Kono

NOOK Book(NOOK Kids)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

A new friendship helps a polar bear realize that it’s possible to see every color in the rainbow—you just need to know how to look
 
In this picture book perfect for fans of Carson Ellis’s Home and Aaron Becker’s Journey, Bear longs to see color . . . but everything around him on the North Pole is white, white, white. When a seagull brings a gift from a little girl, Bear falls in love with the colors in her painting, but it's not enough. So the girl sets off in her boat to take Bear on an adventure and help him see the colors up close. The pair visits colorful landmarks around the world, from the windmills of Holland to the Egyptian pyramids to New York's Statue of Liberty. And by the time they return to Bear's polar home, Bear has learned to see color reflected all around him—especially the colors of the Northern Lights, which were there all along.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

Praise for Every Color

"The combination of color, playful characters with rich facial expressions, and iconic world landmarks make this a charming tale perfect for storytime."—Booklist

"Beginning with highlighted landmarks of Europe and ending with the wonders of the ocean depths and monuments of the Americas, the book presents the young artist’s small pen and watercolor paintings in a briefly worded travelogue that follows Bear and friend. . . . A recommended general purchase for all libraries."—School Library Journal

School Library Journal

11/01/2016
PreS-Gr 1—The snowy white world of the Far North has an unhappy resident—Bear, a polar bear longing for color and deeply depressed at the lack of it in his icy surroundings. With the help of a passing seagull, a young artist and sailor comes to the rescue with a boat tour to show Bear the colors of the world: "They [travel] beyond distant shores, up rivers and down," in the air and on water. Mixed-media digital collage art accentuates the color against the grays and white of the North Sea. Beginning with highlighted landmarks of Europe and ending with the wonders of the ocean depths and monuments of the Americas, the book presents the young artist's small pen and watercolor paintings in a briefly worded travelogue that follows Bear and friend. Slowly changing hues from the artist's palette—red, yellow, green, blue, and purple—highlight each drawing, images and sites that range across all continents and oceans and end with Bear's arrival home. The "aurora polaris" finally displays the rainbow of colors previously missed but that have always been a part of his Arctic world. VERDICT A recommended general purchase for all libraries.—Mary Elam, Learning Media Services, Plano ISD, TX

Kirkus Review

Aug. 30, 2016
A polar bears searches for colors beyond white.Bear lives “at the top of the world,” which is made of white ice and white snow. The animals, including whales, are white or light gray (though all have faintly pink cheeks); even the ocean’s light gray. Bear yearns for colors. A sea gull requests help from a brown-skinned, round-faced girl with straight dark hair who lives elsewhere (readers never learn where). She collects Bear in a skiff and takes him traveling. They see a Dutch windmill, the Blue Mosque, the Taj Mahal, and much more. Countries and sights aren’t named, though the copyright page lists them. Pages show a white background behind irregularly shaped travel scenes; each page’s scenes emphasize one hue. As pages turn, the scene-shapes shift through the rainbow spectrum, quenching Bear’s color thirst. Kono’s premise is more trope than truth, because the real Arctic has many hues. A confusing moral appears. Supposedly the Arctic “always had” colors, and Bear had “just needed to learn how to see them,” but the only new Arctic-environment colors to appear—not Bear’s (new) paintings nor the illustrations’ confettilike decoration—are the northern lights; they appear in one gorgeous, stunning spread, and it’s hard to believe that Bear’s never seen them before. A bit touristy and perplexing in its lesson but cheerfully enjoyable—and worth it for that northern lights spread. (Picture book. 3-6)

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780735227569
Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date: 11/15/2016
Sold by: Penguin Group
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 32
File size: 17 MB
Note: This product may take a few minutes to download.
Age Range: 4 - 8 Years

Customer Reviews