Every Man Should Know

Every Man Should Know

by Harry Connick Jr.Harry Connick Jr.


$8.69 $9.99 Save 13% Current price is $8.69, Original price is $9.99. You Save 13%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Harry Connick, Jr.'s 2013 studio album Every Man Should Know finds the New Orleans native delving into a handful of original songs that touch upon country, pop, and R&B, with only a few jazz-oriented cuts in the mix. Connick has gone in the original pop direction before with 1994's R&B-infused She and 1995's soulful Star Turtle, as well as on the second line funk-centric Smokey Mary, which came out earlier in 2013. Those albums showcased Connick's long-avowed love of artists like Stevie Wonder and Dr. John. With Every Man Should Know, Connick attempts yet another foray into the world of the contemporary singer/songwriter, focusing less on funk and more on a gospel and country-inflected sound. Tracks like the title song and the bluesy, minor-key "One Fine Thing" are compelling and very Carole King meets Van Morrison-esque, framing Connick's big croon, sincere lyrics, and deft piano with some urbane orchestral flourishes. Equally effective is the yearning Latin jazz number "I Love Her," in which Connick lovingly evinces the lush and romantic '60s bossa nova recordings of Stan Getz and João Gilberto, replete with string and flute backgrounds. He also revisits his '90s jazz approach on the laid-back "Being Alone" and the New Orleans second line-inspired "S'pposed to Be," which feature trumpeters Wynton Marsalis and Leroy Jones, respectively. Ultimately, Every Man Should Know is a record with something for every Connick fan.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/11/2013
Label: Sony
UPC: 0888837292924
catalogNumber: 372929
Rank: 47599

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Harry Connick   Primary Artist,Guitar,Piano,Trumpet,Conductor,Vocals,Background Vocals,Hammond B3
Bill Summers   Percussion
Dennis Crouch   Bass
Jonathan DuBose   Guitar
Shannon Forrest   Drums
Paul Franklin   Pedal Steel Guitar
Dan Higgins   Flute
Viktor Krauss   Bass
Branford Marsalis   Soprano Saxophone
Wynton Marsalis   Trumpet
Aubrey Haynie   Mandolin,Violin
Mark Mullins   Trombone
Raymond Weber   Drums
Kim Burrell   Vocals
Bryan Sutton   Guitar
Ben Ellman   Tenor Saxophone
Leroy Jones   Trumpet,Soloist
Jason Mingledorff   Tenor Saxophone
Arthur Latin   Drums
Neal Caine   Bass
Jeff Taylor   Accordion
Mark Braud   Trumpet
Tony Hall   Bass
Jermaine Miles   Background Vocals
Tara Alexander   Choir, Chorus
Alysha Umphress   Background Vocals
Frontline Vocal Movement   Choir, Chorus
Jesse Mueller   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Harry Connick   Arranger,Composer,Lyricist,Producer,Orchestration
Tracey Freeman   Producer
Gary Paczosa   Engineer,Guitar Engineer
Gregg Rubin   Guitar Engineer
Todd Whitelock   Vocal Engineer
Chris Finney   Engineer
Maria P. Marulanda   Art Direction
Scott M. Riesett   Vocal Engineer,Guitar Engineer
Vince Caro   Vocal Engineer,Piano Engineer
Kyle Lamy   Engineer

Customer Reviews