by Eddie HarrisEddie Harris


$19.89 $19.99 Save 1% Current price is $19.89, Original price is $19.99. You Save 1%.


This disc has three selections apiece from 1966 and 1968 and six from 1973, all of which were previously unreleased at the time. Eddie Harris is heard in top form on the diverse program, some of which is funky and some of which is purely straightahead. Highlights include "Listen Here Goes Funky," the 16½-minute "Turbulence," "Fragmentary Apparitions," "Hey Wado" and "Oleo." Harris switches between tenor, his electrified sax and (on "Turbulence") reed trumpet; his sidemen include guitarist Ronald Muldrow, keyboardists Larry Nash and Richard Abrams and pianists Jodie Christian and Cedar Walton. This set is well worth searching for.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/26/2000
Label: Collectables
UPC: 0090431640920
catalogNumber: 6409

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Eddie Harris   Primary Artist,Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Vocals,Electric Saxophone,Reed Trumpet
Ron Carter   Bass
Jodie Christian   Piano
Billy Higgins   Drums
Rufus Reid   Bass
Cedar Walton   Piano
William James   Drums
Frank Gordon   Trumpet
Leon "Ndugu" Chancler   Percussion,Drums
Ray Codrington   Trumpet
André Fischer   Percussion
Vivian Harrell   Background Vocals
Marilyn Haywood   Background Vocals
Billy Howell   Trombone
Ronald Muldrow   Electric Guitar
Larry Nash   Electric Piano
Mary Ann Stewart   Background Vocals
Marshall Thompson   Percussion
Richard Abrahams   Electric Piano
Richard Smith   Drums

Technical Credits

Eddie Harris   Composer,Producer
Rufus Reid   Composer
Sonny Rollins   Composer
William James   Composer
Muhal Richard Abrams   Composer
Arif Mardin   Producer
Ronald Muldrow   Composer
Marvin Lagunoff   Producer
Harry Abraham   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews