by Mandy Patinkin



Mandy Patinkin, who can wring the greatest drama or the most manic comedy out of a theater song, used only his most tender interpretive talents for his third album, Experiment. As usual, the selections came almost exclusively from Broadway shows (the exception, Harry Chapin's "Taxi," was a classic story-song), and one-third of them were by Stephen Sondheim. They dated back to the 1920s (Irving Berlin's "Always") and up to the '80s (Claude-Michel Schönberg and Herbert Kretzmer's "I Dreamed a Dream" and "Bring Him Home" from Les Miserables), but Patinkin brought a consistency to them by singing gently in his trembling, innocent tenor, starting with "As Time Goes By" (complete with its rarely sung introductory verse) and ending with Cole Porter's "Experiment." The album was in a sense one long suite or, given the brevity of many of the selections, one long medley, the songs often segueing seamlessly into each other. The album seemed designed to answer Patinkin's critics, who had found his previous recordings melodramatic and hysterical. He was reined in on the ironically titled "Experiment," but even if this was Mandy Patinkin Lite, it was appealing.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/17/1994
Label: Nonesuch
UPC: 0075597933024
catalogNumber: 79330

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Mandy Patinkin   Primary Artist,Vocals
David Nadien   Violin
Sanford Allen   Violin
Belinda Whitney-Barratt   Violin
John Beal   Bass
Kenneth Bichel   Synthesizer
Alfred Brown   Viola
Max Ellen   Violin
Harvey Estrin   Reeds,Woodwind
Lawrence Feldman   Reeds,Woodwind
Joyce Hammann   Violin,Concert Master
Richard Henrickson   Violin
Susan Jolles   Harp
Olivia Koppell   Viola
Scott Kuney   Guitar
Jesse Levy   Cello
Charles Libove   Violin
Richard Locker   Viola
Joe Passaro   Percussion
Laura Seaton   Violin
Robert Steen   Reeds,Woodwind
Mineko Yajima   Violin
Ronald Zito   Drums
Ann Labin   Violin
Paul Ford   Piano
Eric Stern   Conductor
Katherine LiVolsi Stern   Violin
Peter Gordon   French Horn
John Miller   Electric Bass

Technical Credits

Mandy Patinkin   Contributor
Alain Boublil   Composer
Robert Hurwitz   Executive Producer
Tom Lazarus   Engineer
John McClure   Producer
Paul Ford   Arranger
Daniel Troob   Orchestration
Herman Hupfeld   Composer
Mourou Jean Claude J. Lucchetti   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews