by Faith EvansFaith Evans


$13.74 $13.99 Save 2% Current price is $13.74, Original price is $13.99. You Save 2%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Faith Evans knows the value of devotion as well as its ugly flip side -- betrayal. Once a pawn in the East Coast/West Coast hip-hop feud that led to the death of her estranged husband, the late Notorious B.I.G., in 2001, Evans is enjoying a new life as a mother and devoted wife. While we wish her well, it's an R&B truism that the best art often emerges from heartache, and on her third album, Faithfully, hip-hop soul's other queen sounds most resolutely groovy on songs about love that's gone south. Over a trunkload of head-nodding bass, Evans disses and dismisses a selfish boyfriend on cuts such as "Alone in His World" and "You Gets No Love." And in a chest-thumping duet with Carl Thomas, "Can't Believe," the songbird once again makes breaking up sound so damn funky. When the first lady of Bad Boy sings about love gone right, however, she succumbs to the cheesiest extremes of contemporary R&B. For example, the obligatory Neptunes-produced joint "Burnin' Up" sounds like a throwaway meant for their less vocally gifted protégée Kelis. Instead, sister-girl's churchy vocals seem better suited to the down-tempo rhythms of songs such as the flute-infused "Do Your Time" and the jazzy, Jill Scott-esque "Love Can't Hide." On both tracks, the diva wails about the speed bumps she's encountered along the freeway of love, and the strong belief that has enabled her to keep on movin'. In fact, as Evans proved in real life, with a little faith, real love can prosper. But for the many more jilted lovers of the world, Faith the artist will provide plenty of soulful solace.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/06/2001
Label: Bad Boy
UPC: 0786127304121
catalogNumber: 73041
Rank: 12830


  1. Intro
  2. Alone In This World
  3. You Gets No Love (featuring P. Diddy & Loon)
  4. Burnin' Up (featuring Loon)
  5. I Love You
  6. Everything (interlude)
  7. Back To Love
  8. Faithful (interlude)
  9. Do Your Time
  10. Don't Cry
  11. Faithfully
  12. Brand New Man
  13. Ghetto (interlude)
  14. Where We Stand
  15. Heaven Only Knows
  16. Love Can't Hide
  17. Can't Believe (featuring Carl Thomas)
  18. Love Song (interlude)

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Faith Evans   Primary Artist,Background Vocals
Hijack   Keyboards
Sean "Puffy" Combs   Background Vocals
Michael Angelo Saulsberry   Background Vocals
Andre Wilson   Background Vocals
Carl Thomas   Background Vocals
Vada Nobles   Keyboards
Gearard Barnes   Keyboards
Adonis Stropshire   Background Vocals
Meelah Williams   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Hoza Clowney   Producer
Kip Collins   Producer
Sean "Puffy" Combs   Producer,Executive Producer,Vocal Producer
Isaac Hayes   Composer
Paul Logus   Engineer
Axel Niehaus   Engineer
Rob Paustian   Engineer
Todd Russaw   Producer,Executive Producer
Michael Angelo Saulsberry   Producer,Instrumentation
Marcus Smith   Engineer
John Thomas   Engineer
Mario Winans   Producer,Instrumentation
Faith Evans   Composer,Producer,Executive Producer
Charles "Prince Charles" Alexander   Engineer
Chucky Thompson   Producer
Christopher Stern   Art Direction
Jim Janik   Engineer
Stephen Dent   Engineer
Anthony Best   Composer
Alfred Figueroa   Engineer
Neptunes   Producer
Vada Nobles   Producer
Harve Pierre   Vocal Producer
Tommie Hicks   Engineer
Roger Che   Engineer
Battlecat   Producer
Markus Ulibarri   Engineer
Jennifer Lopez   Composer
Bink   Producer
Mechalie Jamison   Composer
Andrew Coleman   Engineer
Bobby Springsteen   Composer
Wayne Allison   Engineer
Victoria Jordan   Art Direction
Buckwild   Producer

Customer Reviews