The Fate of Africa: A History of the Continent Since Independence

The Fate of Africa: A History of the Continent Since Independence

by Martin Meredith


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The definitive story of African nations after they emerged from colonialism — from Mugabe's doomed kleptocracy to Mandela's inspiring defeat of apartheid.

The Fate of Africa has been hailed by reviewers as "A masterpiece....The nonfiction book of the year" ( The New York Post); "a magnificent achievement" ( Weekly Standard); "a joy," ( Wall Street Journal) and "one of the decade's most important works on Africa" ( Publishers Weekly, starred review). Spanning the full breadth of the continent, from the bloody revolt in Algiers against the French to Zimbabwe's civil war, Martin Meredith's classic history focuses on the key personalities, events and themes of the independence era, and explains the myriad problems that Africa has faced in the past half-century. It covers recent events like the ongoing conflict in Sudan, the controversy over Western aid, the exploitation of Africa's resources, and the growing importance and influence of China.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781610390712
Publisher: PublicAffairs
Publication date: 09/06/2011
Edition description: Revised
Pages: 816
Sales rank: 351,822
Product dimensions: 6.10(w) x 9.00(h) x 2.30(d)

About the Author

Martin Meredith is a journalist, biographer, and historian who has written extensively on Africa. His books include Mandela: A Biography; Mugabe; Diamonds, Gold and War; Born in Africa; and, most recently, Fortunes of Africa. He lives near Oxford, England.

Table of Contents

Maps viii

Author's Note xiii

Introduction 1

Part I

1 The Gold Coast Experiment 17

2 Revolt on the Nile 30

3 Land of the Setting Sun 44

4 L'Afrique Noire 58

5 Winds of Change 75

6 Heart of Darkness 93

7 The White South 116

Part II

8 The Birth of Nations 141

9 The First Dance of Freedom 162

10 Feet of Clay 179

11 A House Divided 193

12 Death of an Emperor 206

13 The Coming of Tyrants 218

14 In Search of Ujamaa 249

15 The Passing of the Old Guard 260

16 The Slippery Slope 275

17 The Great Plunderer 293

18 White Dominoes 309

Part III

19 Red Tears 331

20 Fault Lines 344

21 The Scourge of Aids 362

22 The Lost Decade 368

23 The Struggle for Democracy 378

24 A Time of Triumph 412

Part IV

25 In the Name of the Prophet 443

26 Black Hawk Down 464

27 The Graves are Not Yet Full 485

28 Where Vultures Fly 524

29 Blood Diamonds 545

30 No Condition is Permanent 574

31 The Honour of Living 588

32 Black Gold 602

33 A Degree in Violence 619

34 Somewhere Over the Rainbow 653

35 Out of Africa 686

Chapter Notes 705

Select Bibliography 723

Index 752

Customer Reviews