Fierce Mercy [Deluxe Edition]

Fierce Mercy [Deluxe Edition]

by Colin HayColin Hay

CD(Special Edition)

$17.38 $17.99 Save 3% Current price is $17.38, Original price is $17.99. You Save 3%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Being a working songwriter suits Colin Hay. Arriving in early 2017, just two years after its predecessor Next Year People, Fierce Mercy bears many familiar traits from Hay's albums of the 21st century -- it's mellow yet wry, mellifluous with a bit of grit -- but it feels fuller and richer than its immediate predecessors. Hay handles the production on his own this time, and he's given himself a bigger, bolder palette, a shift that's evident from the opener "Come Tumblin' Down." Lively and bright, "Come Tumblin' Down" sets the tone for Fierce Mercy. While Hay certainly indulges in moments of quiet contemplation -- "Two Friends" is gentle and rustic, "A Thousand Million Reasons" offers a shimmering electronic balm, and "The Best in Me" is a signature, ambling, friendly pop tune -- Fierce Mercy is distinguished by the moments when Hay aims slightly for left of center. "Secret Love" rings out like a muted Phil Spector production," "Frozen Fields of Snow" rolls along with echoes of late-'60s progressive folk, and "I'm Going to Get You Stoned" has a soulful undercurrent that underpins a nice tale of a generational divide. This narrative could've fit on previous Hay albums, but what's appealing about "I'm Going to Get You Stoned" in specific, and Fierce Mercy overall, is how it's bathed in rich, vivid colors -- and that expanded sonic range makes this record a cut above Hay's reliably pleasurable offerings.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/03/2017
Label: Compass Records
UPC: 0766397468020
catalogNumber: 4680
Rank: 16296

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Colin Hay   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals,Bells,Guitar (12 String Acoustic)
Alison Brown   Banjo
David Davidson   Violin
Audley Freed   Electric Guitar
Michael Georgiades   Acoustic Guitar,Background Vocals
Jim Grosjean   Viola
Jim Hoke   Piano,Hammond Organ,Hammond B3
David Kemper   Drums
Doug Lancio   Electric Guitar
Max Merritt   Background Vocals
Cecilia Noel   Background Vocals
Toshi Yanagi   Electric Guitar
Alan Deremo   Bass
Garry West   Bass
Jeff Babko   Piano,Accordion,Harpsichord,Hammond B3
Jimmy Earl   Bass
Karen Winkelmann   Violin
Vance Powell   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals,Bells
Belinda Skinner   Background Vocals
Elizabeth Lamb   Viola
Charlie Paxson   Drums
Fred Kron   Organ,Synthesizer,Piano,Keyboards,Electric Piano
Janet Darnall   Violin
Carole Rabinowitz   Cello
Craig Nelson   Bass
Charissa Nielsen   Background Vocals
San Miguel Perez   Acoustic Guitar,Bongos,Conga,Background Vocals,Tres,Effects Pedals
Alicia Enstrom   Violin
Yosmel Montejo   Bass,Background Vocals
Joe Lopez   Vocals
Jonathan Eric Piazza   Keyboards,Vocals
Leiser Tito   Trombone

Technical Credits

Michael Georgiades   Composer
Colin Hay   Composer,Producer,Engineer,String Arrangements
Cecilia Noel   Composer,Vocal Arrangements
Robert Hakalski   Cover Illustration
Cristián Robles   Engineer
Richard Jacques   Composer
Fred Kron   Programming,Orchestration,String Arrangements
Gordon Hammond   Engineer
Jo Manuel Lopez   Composer
Jonathan Eric Piazza   Composer,Programming

Customer Reviews