Fight for Your Mind

Fight for Your Mind

by Ben HarperBen Harper

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record - Anniversary Edition)

$33.24 $34.99 Save 5% Current price is $33.24, Original price is $34.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Fight for Your Mind fully embraces Ben Harper's influences (Dylan, Marley, Havens, and Hendrix) into a complete sound while simultaneously broadening his thematic and musical palette. Oliver Charles' tactile drumming and Leon Mobley's percussion work give a sparkle to Harper's music that was absent on his debut. Songs like "Gold to Me" and "Excuse Me Mr." show Harper growing as a poet, approaching ideas via more subtle avenues. The single "Ground on Down" and epic jam "God Fearing Man" capture some of the explosive energy of his live performances. The latter makes allusions to "While My Guitar Gently Weeps," and that's exactly what Harper does -- allows his trademark Weissenborn guitar to scream out to his audience. The only misstep on this album is his sophomoric weed anthem "Burn One Down," but one might argue that a little tarnish adds character.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/26/2015
Label: Virgin Records Us
UPC: 0602547297297
catalogNumber: 2305701
Rank: 11987


Disc 1

  1. Oppression
  2. Ground on Down
  3. Another Lonely Day
  4. Please Me Like You Want To
  5. Gold to Me
  6. Burn One Down
  7. Excuse Me Mr.
  8. People Lead

Disc 2

  1. Fight for Your Mind
  2. Give a Man a Home
  3. By My Side
  4. Power of the Gospel
  5. God Fearing Man
  6. One Road to Freedom

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ben Harper   Primary Artist

Customer Reviews