Filigree & Shadow

Filigree & Shadow

by This Mortal CoilThis Mortal Coil

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record)

$34.94 $35.99 Save 3% Current price is $34.94, Original price is $35.99. You Save 3%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The second album by the 4AD collective headed by label founder Ivo Watts-Russell distills the This Mortal Coil concept somewhat. There's more of a core group now, featuring Simon Raymonde of the Cocteau Twins, producer John Fryer, arranger Martin McCarrick, and Watts-Russell himself, backing a variety of mostly female singers. The double album is nearly half instrumentals (all of them given the traditional 4AD treatment of layers of echo, reverb, and phasing), most of which are pleasant enough but not particularly memorable. The vocal tracks, however, continue the debut's trend of intriguing versions of fascinatingly obscure covers, ranging from Pearls Before Swine's mysteriously beautiful "The Jeweller" (with Scott Walker-like vocals by Dominic Appleton) and Tim Buckley's "I Must Have Been Blind" (sung by Richenel, apparently from the bottom of a very deep well) to Talking Heads' "Drugs" (with a fiery, soulful vocal by Alison Limerick over a harsh, thumping rhythm track) and Colin Newman's "Alone," each of them reinterpreted in the unique This Mortal Coil style. Less focused than It'll End in Tears, Filigree & Shadow is an uneven but often inspired follow-up.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/07/2018
Label: 4Ad
UPC: 0652637300512
catalogNumber: 73005
Rank: 54742


Disc 1

  1. Velvet Belly
  2. The Jeweller
  3. Ivy and Neet
  4. Meniscus
  5. Tears
  6. Tarantula
  7. My Father
  8. Come Here My Love
  9. At First, And Then
  10. Strength of Strings
  11. Morning Glory
  12. Inch-Blue
  13. I Want to Live

Disc 2

  1. Mama K (1)
  2. Filigree and Shadow
  3. Fire Brothers
  4. Thaïs (1)
  5. I Must Have Been Blind
  6. A Heart of Glass
  7. Alone
  8. Mama K (2)
  9. The Horizon Bleeds and Sucks Its Thumb
  10. Drugs
  11. Red Rain
  12. Thaïs (2)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews