Fire Dream

Fire Dream

by Colonel J.D. WilkesColonel J.D. Wilkes


$14.48 $14.99 Save 3% Current price is $14.48, Original price is $14.99. You Save 3%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Dropping the Colonel from his name and stepping away from the Legendary Shack Shakers, J.D. Wilkes indulges in his American gothic fantasies on his debut solo album, Fire Dream. Hiring an all-star Americana cast featuring members of the Drive-By Truckers and the Squirrel Nut Zippers, Wilkes conjures ghosts of old medicine shows and carny barkers with his husky howl and old-timey folk-blues. He roots Fire Dream in the music and imagery of his native Kentucky, but he doesn't play things straight: his is a heightened reality, where the backwoods, hoboes, and moonshine achieve a mythic status. Appropriately, Fire Dream can often feel carnivalesque in its swirling pianos and banjos, sometimes recalling a Southern Tom Waits, but Wilkes never seems like he's mimicking another musician and even if it's proudly arty, Fire Dream never comes across as pretentious. It's a knowing, melodramatic Southern fantasia, where the pleasure comes from how every element -- from the lyrics through the performances -- is exaggerated, turning this into fetchingly surreal Americana.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/16/2018
Label: Big Legal Mess
UPC: 0854255005477
catalogNumber: 547
Rank: 108521

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Colonel J.D. Wilkes   Primary Artist,Organ,Banjo,Harmonica,Percussion,Piano,Vocals
Mark Franklin   Trumpet
Jimbo Mathus   Organ,Guitar,Drums,Background Vocals
Scott Bomar   Bass Guitar
Kirk Smothers   Saxophone
Matt Patton   Bass Guitar,Background Vocals
Sick   Guitar,Percussion,Piano,Violin,Background Vocals,cuatro
Liz Brasher   Background Vocals
Tex Watson   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Duane Denison   Composer
Todd Hunt   Back Cover Photo
Clay Jones   Engineer
Jeff Powell   Engineer
Mark Franklin   Arranger
Jimbo Mathus   Producer
Traditional   Composer
Colonel J.D. Wilkes   Composer
Mark Robertson   Composer
Bruce Watson   Producer
Brett Whitacre   Composer
James Pellegrini   Inside Photo
Gabi De La Merced   Cover Painting

Customer Reviews