Flags of Our Fathers [Music from the Motion Picture]

Flags of Our Fathers [Music from the Motion Picture]

by Clint Eastwood


$14.36 $14.99 Save 4% Current price is $14.36, Original price is $14.99. You Save 4%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, January 27
4 New & Used Starting at $2.49


Swelling patriotism meets haunting solemnity on the soundtrack to Clint Eastwood's directorial masterpiece about the iconic flag-raisers of Iwo Jima. In addition to earning him a Golden Globe nomination for the score of his film Million Dollar Baby, the actor/director's lifelong love of jazz and keen ability as a composer have traditionally made the soundtracks to his films musical events in themselves, and this collection is no exception. The score itself is a perfect blend of reflective but simple piano melodies, swelling strings, and muffled military drums. Eastwood also makes inspired choices of vintage '40s music, ranging from Dinah Shore's "I'll Walk Alone" to uplifting pro-America anthems by Irving Berlin and Sammy Cahn/Jule Styne and an Artie Shaw piece. And what would a combat-filled film be without a few John Philip Sousa numbers? Eastwood's son, popular jazz bassist Kyle Eastwood, co-composes and performs "Knock Knock," an original Django Reinhardt-flavored piece that sounds like it could have been written in the big-band era. Putting as much care into the soundtrack as he did into the details of the film, Eastwood conjures up the many conflicting emotions of the WWII era.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/17/2006
Label: Milan Records
UPC: 0731383620324
catalogNumber: 36203
Rank: 249974

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Clint Eastwood   Primary Artist
Dinah Shore   Vocals
Bruce Forman   Guitar
Artie Shaw   Track Performer
Lanny Morgan   Saxophone
Lennie Niehaus   Conductor
Bill Watrous   Trombone
Bruce Dukov   Concert Master
Richard Todd   Horn
Rick Baptist   Trumpet
Chuck Berghofer   Bass
Charlie Bisharat   Violin
Jacqueline Brand   Violin
Dennis Budimir   Guitar
Darius Campo   Violin
Gene Cipriano   Saxophone
Mathew Cooker   Cello
Larry Corbett   Cello
Kyle Eastwood   Track Performer
Alan Estes   Percussion
Pamela Goldsmith   Viola
Daniel Greco   Percussion
Gary Herbig   Clarinet
Dan Higgins   Saxophone
Carrie Holzman-Little   Viola
Jack Sheldon   Trumpet
Armen Ksadjikian   Cello
Janet Lakatos   Viola
Michael Lang   Keyboards
Roger Lebow   Cello
Dane Little   Cello
Charles Loper   Trombone
Warren Luening   Trumpet
Michael Markman   Violin
Andy Martin   Trombone
Edward Meares   Bass
Joe Meyer   Horn
Judd Miller   Evi
Dan Neufeld   Viola
Jack Nimitz   Saxophone
Robin Olson   Violin
Claudia Parducci   Violin
Joel Peskin   Clarinet
Kazi Pitelka   Viola
Katia Popov   Violin
Barbara Porter   Violin
Karie Prescott   Viola
Debra Price   Violin
Emil Radocchia   Percussion
Danny Seidenberg   Viola
Haim Shtrum   Violin
Ron Stout   Trumpet
Brad Warnaar   Horn
Ken Wild   Bass
Margaret Wooten   Violin
Donald Williams   Percussion
David Ewart   Violin
Drew Dembowski   Bass
Michael Stevens   Track Performer
Tommy Johnson   Tuba
William Frank "Bill" Reichenbach   Euphonium
Natalie Leggett   Violin
Rowena Hamil   Cello
Christian Kollgaard   Bass
Timothy Landauer   Cello
Rafael Rishik   Violin
Shawn Mann   Viola
Darrin McCann   Viola
Hershberger   Violin
Gil Romero   Violin
Tiffiany Yi Hu   Violin
Larry Hughes   Clarinet
Olivia Tsui   Violin
Michael Valerio   Bass
Trevor Handy   Cello
Oscar Hidalgo   Bass
Mark Markman   Violin
Horia Moroaica   Violin
Samuel Formicola   Viola
Pat Johnson   Violin
James Freebarin-Smith   Cello
Jennifer Levin   Violin
Graeme Flowers   Track Performer
Phillip Yao   Horn
Andrew Duckles   Viola
Artie Shaw & His Gramercy Five   Ensemble
Vivian Lesiak   Track Performer
Justin Hageman   Horn
Kim Edmundson   Percussion
Jennifer Mededis   Track Performer
Armen Ksajikian   Cello
Norman Pearson   Tuba
Joie Shettler   Track Performer
Tiffany Yi Hu   Violin
Brian D. A. O'Connor   Horn
Phillip O'Connor   Clarinet
Steven Holtman   Euphonium
Victoria Miskolczy   Viola
Charles Berghofer   Bass
David Duke   Horn
Erika Duke-Kirkpatrick   Cello
Matt Cooker   Cello
John A. Reynolds   Horn
Chris Ermacoff   Cello
Amy Hershberger   Violin
Michael Fenton Stevens   Track Performer
Barbra Proter   Violin
Gene "Cip" Cipriano   Saxophone
Marc Sazer   Violin
Andrew McCormack   Track Performer
Kato Roland   Viola
Kenny Wild   Bass
Vanessa Freebairn-Smith   Cello
Rowena Hammill   Cello
Razdan Kuyumjian   Violin
Matthew Funes   Viola
Brian O'Connor   Horn

Technical Credits

Franz Joseph Haydn   Composer
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart   Composer
John Philip Sousa   Composer
Irving Berlin   Composer
Lennie Niehaus   Orchestra Leader
Sammy Cahn   Composer
Emmanuel Chamboredon   Executive Producer
Kyle Eastwood   Arranger,Composer
Jule Styne   Composer
Michael Stevens   Arranger,Composer
Artie Shaw & His Orchestra   Composer
Ian P. Hierons   Executive Producer
Jodi Tack   Art Direction
Graeme Flowers   Composer
Robert Lorenz   Executive Producer
Ian Hierons   Executive Producer
Roya R. Hekmat   Business Consultant,Legal Counsel
Clint Eastwood   Composer,Executive Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Flags of our Fathers [Soundtrack] 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
In addition to being a brilliant filmmaker, Clint Eastwood is also an accomplished musician,and this score shows it in every way.The score is moving and brilliantly played under the superb baton of Lennie Niehaus,with a memorable main piano theme. This is music that stays with you long after the movie is over.Bravo,Clint!
Guest More than 1 year ago
As a musician, I can get pretty critical of film scores. The main piano theme was moving, without being sappy. And anything that has Bill Watrous and Lennie Niehaus is gonna be good!