Folly and Glory (Berrybender Narratives Series #4)

Folly and Glory (Berrybender Narratives Series #4)

by Larry McMurtry


$16.00 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, July 29


In this brilliant saga—the final volume of The Berrybender Narratives and an epic in its own right—Larry McMurtry lives up to his reputation for delivering novels with “wit, grace, and more than a hint of what might be called muscular nostalgia, fit together to create a panoramic portrait of the American West” (The New York Times Book Review).

As this finale opens, Tasmin and her family are under irksome, though comfortable, arrest in Mexican Santa Fe. Her father, the eccentric Lord Berrybender, is planning to head for Texas with his whole family and his retainers, English, American, and Native American. Tasmin, who would once have followed her husband, Jim Snow, anywhere, is no longer even sure she likes him, or knows where to go to next. Neither does anyone else—even Captain Clark, of Lewis and Clark fame, is puzzled by the great changes sweeping over the West, replacing red men and buffalo with towns and farms.

In the meantime, Jim Snow, accompanied by Kit Carson, journeys to New Orleans, where he meets up with a muscular black giant named Juppy, who turns out to be one of Lord Berrybender’s many illegitimate offspring, and in whose company they make their way back to Santa Fe. But even they are unable to prevent the Mexicans from carrying the Berrybender family on a long and terrible journey across the desert to Vera Cruz.

Starving, dying of thirst, and in constant, bloody battle with slavers pursuing them, the Berrybenders finally make their way to civilization—if New Orleans of the time can be called that—where Jim Snow has to choose between Tasmin and the great American plains, on which he has lived all his life in freedom, and where, after all her adventures, Tasmin must finally decide where her future lies.

With a cast of characters that includes almost every major real-life figure of the West, Folly and Glory is a novel that represents the culmination of a great and unique four-volume saga of the early days of the West; it is one of Larry McMurtry’s finest achievements.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780743262729
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Publication date: 08/02/2005
Series: Berrybender Narratives Series , #4
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 256
Sales rank: 195,540
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.43(h) x 0.80(d)

About the Author

Larry McMurtry is the author of twenty-nine novels, including the Pulitzer Prize–winning Lonesome Dove, three memoirs, two collections of essays, and more than thirty screenplays. He lives in Archer City, Texas.


Archer City, Texas

Date of Birth:

June 3, 1936

Place of Birth:

Wichita Falls, Texas


B.A., North Texas State University, 1958; M.A., Rice University, 1960. Also studied at Stanford University.

Table of Contents

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

"In this tale of the exploration, and exploitation, of the West, McMurtry is telling us something about our checkered past — and perhaps about our uncertain present."


"Like a cross between John Ford and Quentin Tarantino: a genre-bending Western farce that follows the misadventures and couplings of a sprawling English family and its hangers-on as it makes its roundabout way across the West in the 1830s."

The New York Times

"McMurtry hits the bull's make readers eyewitnesses to the crucial decade in which the West was both won and ruined."

San Antonio (Texas) Express-News

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Folly and Glory (Berrybender Narratives Series #4) 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
His style of insertng such irony in his stories really is a way tto make you want to read every book he writes! I was hooked at Terms Of Endearment..
santhony on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Final installment of the Berrybinder narratives, a moderately interesting western which has become something of a cash grab by the author, akin to King's Gunslinger novellas.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good reading
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the stories very much and I am patiently waiting for series 5 & 6 of the Berrybender novels. Thankyou Russ Punt.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have committed myself to the Berrybenders and the Sin Killer for four books. At times, I barely liked any of the characters, but stuck with it nonethless. I am glad I did. By book four, there is real character growth with most of the characters. And it is heartwrenching as well. Definitely the best of the four books...
Guest More than 1 year ago
Wonderful and eccentric like all the Berrybender Narratives. Fun and interesting. The ending leaves much to be desired. Sad and heartbreaking for me.