Foreigner [Bonus Tracks]

Foreigner [Bonus Tracks]

by ForeignerForeigner

CD(Remastered / Bonus Tracks)

View All Available Formats & Editions


Although punk rock's furious revolution threatened to overthrow rock's old guard in 1977, bands like Foreigner came along and proved that there was plenty of room in the marketplace for both the violent, upstart minimalism of punk and the airbrushed slickness of what would be called "arena rock." Along with Boston, Journey, Heart, and others, Foreigner celebrated professionalism over raw emotion. And, looking back, it's easy to see why they sold millions; not everyone in the world was pissed off, dissatisfied with the economy, or even necessarily looking for a change. In fact, for most suburban American teens, Foreigner's immaculate rock sound was the perfect soundtrack for cruising through well-manicured neighborhoods in their Chevy Novas. The album spawned some of the biggest FM hits of 1977, including the anthemic "Feels Like the First Time" and "Cold As Ice," both of which were anchored -- like most of Foreigner's songs -- by the muscular but traditional riffing of guitarist Mick Jones, the soaring vocals of Lou Gramm, and the state-of-the-art rock production values of the day, which allowed the band to sound hard, but polished. As pure rock craftsmanship goes, Foreigner was as good as it got in the late '70s. [The expanded edition adds four demos: "Feels Like the First Time," "Woman Oh Woman," "At War With the World," and "Take Me to Your Leader."]

Product Details

Release Date: 04/02/2002
Label: Atlantic
UPC: 0081227427023
catalogNumber: 74270

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Foreigner   Primary Artist
Lou Gramm   Vocals
Mick Jones   Guitar,Vocals
Dennis Elliott   Drums
Ed Gagliardi   Bass,Vocals
Ian McDonald   Guitar,Horn,Keyboards,Vocals
Greenwood   Synthesizer,Keyboards

Technical Credits

Lou Gramm   Composer
Mick Jones   Composer,Producer,Music Direction
Greg Allen   Reissue Design
Bill Inglot   Producer
Gary Lyons   Producer,Engineer
Ian McDonald   Producer
Bruce Pilato   Liner Notes
Bob Defrin   Art Direction
Steve Woolard   Discographical Annotation
Michael McConnell   Contributor
Alex Gnidziejko   Cover Illustration
Shawn Amos   Editorial Coordinator
Daniel Goldmark   Editorial Research
John Sinclair   Producer

Customer Reviews