Forever Charlie

Forever Charlie

by Charlie WilsonCharlie Wilson


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


After five enjoyable 2000-2013 releases, a point at which Charlie Wilson could have been forgiven for delivering a poor or merely respectable album, he made one that's just as pleasing and upbeat as any solo work that preceded it. Wilson might be short on ideas for album titles, but uplifting love songs -- many of which were made with wife Mahin Wilson and producer Greg Pagani -- continue to flow, and the singer's voice remains an energizing force. There are hints of nostalgia sprinkled throughout, like the gentle nod to the Gap Band's "Outstanding" in "Just Like Summertime," and a more overt reference to Carl Carlton's "She's a Bad Mama Jama" in "Sugar.Honey.Ice.Tea." The second half of the album gets an extra boost from a now-routine appearance from Snoop Dogg and some guitar from Pleasure's Marlon McClain, as well as writing and production from Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis. That latter duo, sometimes joined by the Avila Brothers and Val Young, assists on three songs, including a driving synth-funk jam that recalls Yarbrough & Peoples' "Don't Stop the Music" (a song that deeply involved Gap Band collaborator and supporter Lonnie Simmons) and their own work with the S.O.S. Band. Oh, and there's a reference to "You Dropped a Bomb on Me" in there too. Cynics could take it all as relying upon past glories, but the material is too fresh-sounding, too joyous, to disregard.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/27/2015
Label: Rca
UPC: 0888750337122
catalogNumber: 503371
Rank: 13237

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Charlie Wilson   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

Bob Marley   Composer
Marlon McClain   Composer
Val Young   Composer
Terry Lewis   Composer
Greg Pagani   Composer
Rodney Thomas   Composer
Charlie Wilson   Composer,Executive Producer
James Harris   Composer
Josh Cheuse   Art Direction
Sam Salter   Composer
Orville Burrell   Composer
Calvin Broadus   Composer
Erik Nelson   Composer
Steve Daly   Composer
Damon Sharpe   Composer
Michael Paran   Composer
Issiah "IZ" Avila   Composer
Edwin Serrano   Composer
Emile Ghantous   Composer
James Q. Wright   Composer
Lance Tolbert   Composer
Carlos Battey   Composer
Steven Battey   Composer
Jimmy Burney   Composer
Mahin Wilson   Composer
Bobby Avila   Composer
Keith Hetrick   Composer
Ayanna Ray   Composer
Brandon Bassir   Composer
Bobby Avilla   Composer
Otha Leon Haywood   Composer
Sid Jain   Composer

Customer Reviews