by Crooked FingersCrooked Fingers


$10.55 $13.99 Save 25% Current price is $10.55, Original price is $13.99. You Save 25%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, March 4
5 New & Used Starting at $2.93


Crooked Fingers fans who enjoyed Eric Bachmann's 2006, bare-bones acoustic To the Races LP, yet yearned for the kind of heavily orchestrated, E Street Band-fueled Americana that graced 2003's Red Devil Dawn and 2005's Dignity and Shame, will no doubt be pleased by Forfeit/Fortune. Picking right up where Shame left off, Bachmann, along with an all-star cast of characters which includes longtime collaborators as well as indie rock stalwarts like Brian Kotzur (Silver Jews), Tom Hagerman (DeVotchKa), and Neko Case blow through an 11-song set of dusty, horn-laden, highway driving, drink-spilling heartache that stands as the group's most solid piece of work to date. Opener "What Never Comes," a fully loaded showstopper that comes on like a cross between David Bowie's "Heroes" and Bruce Springsteen's "Tenth Avenue Freeze-Out," sets the pace, and from there it's an unusually wild ride from a bandleader who often favors straight-to-tape authenticity over studio experimentation. Funky instrumentation and wild percussion abound throughout, especially on the cool and visceral "Luisa's Bones," an old-timey tale filtered through a digital water bag. "Cannibals," a straight-up power pop nugget that could have peen peeled off the back of the first Cheap Trick album, also impresses, but it's Forfeit/Fortune's final two tracks, the mesmerizing, anthem worthy "Modern Dislocation" and its equally rousing counterpart "Your Control" -- the latter a duet with Neko Case -- that seal the deal.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/21/2009
Label: Constant Artists
UPC: 0656605867724
catalogNumber: 1
Rank: 110209

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Crooked Fingers   Primary Artist
Denis Solee   Clarinet,Flute,Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Group Member
Neko Case   Voices,Group Member
Eric Bachmann   Guitar,Chimes,Alto Saxophone,Voices,Sampling,Group Member
Jason Parker   Trumpet,Group Member
Ian Cooke   Cello,Group Member
Tom Hagerman   Violin,Group Member
Barton Carroll   Upright Bass,Lap Steel Guitar,Group Member
Miranda Brown   Guitar,Voices,Group Member

Technical Credits

Mark Nevers   Engineer
Eric Bachmann   Composer
Alex McManus   Engineer
Rod Blackhurst   Cover Photo
Ethan Andrews   Graphic Design

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews