From Nashville to Memphis: The Essential 60's Masters

From Nashville to Memphis: The Essential 60's Masters

by Elvis Presley

CD(German Import)

View All Available Formats & Editions


Now this is a box set: an expansive focus on a specific period of a prolific recording artist's career, thoroughly documented liner notes by a recognized authority (Peter Guralnick), complete sessionography and discographies (U.S. and U.K.), and abundant photographs. The song selection includes only the secular recordings Elvis made between 1960 and 1969. In this narrow focus, it's possible to see that John Lennon was all wrong about Elvis having died when he went into the army. For one, the material is almost uniformly first-rate. Presley knew from great songwriters, and the '60s proved an especially fertile time for one of his favorite sources, the Doc Pomus–Mort Shuman team, whose contributions are among Presley's foremost artistic triumphs: "A Mess of Blues," "Suspicion," "His Latest Flame," "She's Not You," "Surrender," "Little Sister," "Night Rider." He scorched a Bob Dylan song ("Tomorrow Is a Long Time"); he cut songs by Otis Blackwell, Leiber & Stoller, and Neil Diamond; and, as usual, he took material by lesser writers such as Eddie Rabbitt and found the poetry in them ("Kentucky Rain"). Finally, come 1969, we are in Memphis again, at Chips Moman's American Studios, in the remarkable sessions that produced "In the Ghetto," "Suspicious Minds," and the From Elvis in Memphis album. This is a portrait of an evolving artist, his growth reflected in his deeper emotional involvement in the material and in his ability to use tonal shadings to probe the subtleties of a lyric in a way that escaped him in earlier years. Impressive, on all counts, and essential.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/08/2010
Label: Sony Uk
UPC: 0886977878329
catalogNumber: 7787832


Disc 1

  1. Make Me Know It
  2. Soldier Boy
  3. Stuck On You
  4. Fame And Fortune
  5. Mess Of Blues
  6. It Feels So Right
  7. Fever
  8. Like A Baby
  9. It's Now Or Never
  10. Girl Of My Best Friend
  11. Dirty Dirty Feeling
  12. Thrill Of Your Love
  13. I Gotta Know
  14. Such A Night
  15. Are You Lonesome Tonight
  16. Girl Next Door Went A'walking
  17. I Will Be Home Again
  18. Reconsider Baby
  19. Surrender
  20. I'm Coming Home
  21. Gently
  22. In Your Arms
  23. Give Me The Right
  24. I Feel So Bad
  25. It's A Sin
  26. I Want You With Me
  27. There's Always Me

Disc 2

  1. Starting Today
  2. Sentimental Me
  3. Judy
  4. Put The Blame On Me
  5. Kiss Me Quick
  6. That's Someone You Never Forget
  7. I'm Yours
  8. His Latest Flame
  9. Little Sister
  10. For The Millionth And The Last Time
  11. Good Luck Charm
  12. Anything That's Part Of You
  13. I Met Her Today
  14. Night Rider
  15. Something Blue
  16. Gonna Get Back Home Somehow
  17. Such An Easy Question
  18. Fountain Of Love
  19. Just For Old Times' Sake
  20. You'll Be Gone
  21. I Feel That I've Known You Forever
  22. Just Tell Her Jim Said Hello
  23. Suspicion
  24. She's Not You
  25. Echoes Of Love
  26. Please Don't Drag That String Around
  27. Devil In Disguise
  28. Never Ending
  29. What Now What Next Where To
  30. Witchcraft
  31. Finders Keepers Losers Weepers
  32. Love Me Tonight

Disc 3

  1. It's A Long Lonely Highway
  2. Western Union
  3. Slowly But Surely
  4. Blue River
  5. Memphis Tennessee
  6. Ask Me
  7. It Hurts Me
  8. Down The Alley
  9. Tomorrow Is A Long Time
  10. Love Letters
  11. Beyond The Reef
  12. Come What May
  13. Fools Fall In Love
  14. Indescribably You
  15. I'll Remember You
  16. If Every Day Was Like Christmas
  17. Suppose
  18. Guitar Man/What'd I Say
  19. Big Boss Man
  20. Just Call Me Lonesome
  21. Hi Heel Sneakers
  22. You Don't Know Me
  23. Singing Trees
  24. Too Much Monkey Business
  25. US Male
  26. US Male

Disc 4

  1. Long Black Limousine
  2. This Is The Story
  3. Wearin' That Loved On Look
  4. You'll Think Of Me
  5. Little Bit Of Green
  6. Gentle On My Mind
  7. I'm Movin' On
  8. Don't Cry Daddy
  9. Inherit The Wind
  10. Mama Liked The Roses
  11. My Little Friend
  12. In The Ghetto
  13. Rubberneckin'
  14. From A Jack To A King
  15. Hey Jude
  16. Without Love (There Is Nothing)
  17. I'll Hold You In My Heart (Till I Can Hold You In My Arms)
  18. I'll Be There
  19. Suspicious Minds
  20. True Love Travels On A Gravel Road
  21. Stranger In My Own Hometown
  22. And The Grass Won't Pay No Mind
  23. Power Of My Love

Disc 5

  1. After Loving You
  2. Do You Know Who I Am
  3. Kentucky Rain
  4. Only The Strong Survive
  5. It Keep Right On Hurtin'
  6. Any Day Now
  7. If I'm A Fool For Lovin' You
  8. Fair's Moving On
  9. Who Am I
  10. This Time/I Can't Stop Loving You
  11. In The Ghetto
  12. Suspicious Minds
  13. Kentucky Rain
  14. Big Boss Man
  15. Down In The Alley
  16. Memphis Tennessee
  17. I'm Yours
  18. His Latest Flame
  19. That's Someone You Never Forget
  20. Surrender
  21. It's Now Or Never
  22. Love Me Tender/Witchcraft
  23. Love Me Tender/Witchcraft
  24. Love Me Tender/Witchcraft

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews