Full House [UK Bonus Tracks]

Full House [UK Bonus Tracks]

by Fairport ConventionFairport Convention


$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The original album is remastered in 24-bit digital audio and reissued in England with five bonus tracks, including "Poor Will & the Jolly Hangman," which had been intended for the original release but yanked at the last moment; the accompanying single, "Now Be Thankful," in both its original mono version and a newly mixed stereo version; its instrumental B-side, "Sir B. McKenzie's Daughter's Lament for the 77th Mounted Lancers Retreat From the Straits of Loch Knombe"; and one working version of a traditional song that the group didn't get around to issuing officially for about ten years, "Bonny Bunch of Roses." The remastering makes for a modest improvement in the audio quality, though hardly anything earth-shattering, and the additional tracks are a decidedly mixed bag; "Now Be Thankful" fits in very well with the existing album, but "Poor Will & the Jolly Hangman," although the equal of the other original songs as a composition, is somewhat lacking as a performance compared with the rest of the album. "Bonny Bunch of Roses," which veers very close to raga rock over its 11-minute running time, is an interesting digression, but not the equal of what the group finished to their satisfaction at those sessions. And Simon Nicol's recollections are extremely entertaining.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/01/2002
Label: Island Uk
UPC: 0731458637523
catalogNumber: 586375
Rank: 37660

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Fairport Convention   Primary Artist
Dave Swarbrick   Fiddle,Viola,Vocals,Mandoline
Richard Thompson   Guitar,Vocals
Simon Nicol   Dulcimer,Acoustic Guitar,Bass Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals
Dave Pegg   Bass Guitar,Vocals,Mandoline
Dave Mattacks   Drums,Harmonium

Technical Credits

Dave Swarbrick   Arranger
Fairport Convention   Arranger
Richard Thompson   Sleeve Notes
John Wood   Engineer
Simon Nicol   Sleeve Notes
Joe Boyd   Producer
Lee Hamblin   Remixing
Frank Kornelussen   Remixing

Customer Reviews