Fuse [Deluxe Edition]

Fuse [Deluxe Edition]

by Keith Urban

CD(Special Edition)

$15.49 $17.99 Save 14% Current price is $15.49, Original price is $17.99. You Save 14%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, January 30
10 New & Used Starting at $1.99


The Fuse, Keith Urban's first album in three years, delivers a slicker, more sophisticated version of his solitary demo recording process as a radical-sounding change in direction. Throughout, he melds drum machines, synths, and samplers with his guitars, banjos, mandolins, and voice. Urban's experience as a judge on American Idol also contributes to his song and production choices: he's heard enough commercial pop to know what works. If ever a contemporary country record was strategically created to crossover, this is it. Recorded in California and Nashville, Urban employed a slew of co-producers, songwriters, and co-writers. The set's clever first single, "Little Bit of Everything," with its punchy handclaps, hip-hop rhythms, and pulsing synth, underscores his banjo and stinging guitar; his voice accents the hook and rings clear above it all. "Even the Stars Fall 4 U" is introduced by thrumming, brittle loops, enormous handclaps, a nasty guitar vamp, and a chorus shouting "Hey!" Though the banjo-drenched melody is subtler, the anthemic chorus explodes. The muted drum loop that fuels the shimmering "Cop Car," is layered in atmospherics worthy of Achtung Baby, but the melody is pure country. Miranda Lambert duets on what initially appears to be the purest country tune on the set, but that's a feint as well. The chorus is pure pop, with crisscrossing cut-time rhythms accenting the end of every line. The layered, midtempo ballad "Shame" was co-written and co-produced by the Norwegian hip-hop/R&B team Stargate, with synths hovering through the loop-saturated backdrop. Another ballad, "Come Back to Me," co-produced by Urban and Butch Walker, is deeply indebted to Daniel Lanois' warm-as-bathwater production style, with subdued sonics, edgeless rhythms, rounded and heavily reverbed guitars, and keys. Only his voice is crystalline. The hook is less pronounced but ever present, with a restrained dynamic slowly building to a climax. Contrast this with "Red Camaro," with its rattling banjo, bright, '90s-era drum loop, zig-zagging synths, a fiddle that sounds like an outtake from Dexy's Too-Rye-Ay, and a crisp meld of acoustic and electric guitars under Urban's multi-tracked (and perhaps pitch-enhanced) vocals. The numerous production dimensions here sometimes mask this set's almost uniformly good songs, like the muddied textures that overshadow "Raise 'Em Up," an otherwise fine duet with Eric Church. The set finishes strong with the "Heart Like Mine," another galloping anthem whose rhythmic bounce and cadence sound like they came from Kate Bush's "Running Up That Hill." For all the piecemeal recording, technological obsession, and sheer ambition on The Fuse, Urban manages to fashion it all into a (mostly) working whole and maintains his identity as a contemporary country artist, even as he reaches for the mainstream pop fences. [The Deluxe Version adds three bonus tracks for a total of 16. They include "Black Leather Jacket," "Gonna B Good," and "Lucky Charm."]

Product Details

Release Date: 09/10/2013
Label: Capitol
UPC: 0602537515776
catalogNumber: 001911302
Rank: 45366

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Keith Urban   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Bouzouki,Mandolin,Percussion,Piano,Drums,Electric Guitar,Sitar,Vocals,Slide Guitar,E-bow,Soloist,Vocal Harmony
Dann Huff   Acoustic Guitar,Bouzouki,Electric Guitar
Jay Joyce   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Mandolin,Electric Guitar,Mellotron,Guitar (Baritone)
Chris McHugh   Drums
Gene Miller   Vocal Harmony
Butch Walker   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Percussion,Drums,Electric Guitar,Keyboards,Vocal Harmony
Patrick Warren   Strings
Russell Terrell   Background Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Mike Elizondo   Bass,Keyboards
Fred Eltringham   Drums
Jerry Flowers   Bass,Vocal Harmony
Matt Mahaffey   Drums,Keyboards
Wes Hightower   Vocal Harmony
Tony Lucido   Bass
Caitlin Evanson   Fiddle
Kevin Rudolf   Guitar
Jaren Johnston   Vocal Harmony
Ross Copperman   Piano,Accordion,Vocal Harmony
Miranda Lambert   Vocals
Eric Church   Vocals
Nathan Chapman   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Piano,Keyboards,Ukulele,Synthesizer Bass,Vocal Harmony
Mark Stepro   Drums
Jake Sinclair   Bass,Percussion,Keyboards
Jared Champion   Drums
Christine Wu   Fiddle
Devin Malone   Dobro,Pedal Steel Guitar,Electric Guitar
Danny Rader   Bouzouki,Mandolin,Accordion
Charlie Judge   Synthesizer
Zach Crowell   Synthesizer,Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Percussion,Piano,Electric Guitar,Vocal Harmony
John Fields   Bass
Ammar Malik   Bass

Technical Credits

Joe Baldridge   Engineer
Natalie Hemby   Composer
Dann Huff   Producer
Jay Joyce   Composer,Programming,Producer
Steve Marcantonio   Engineer
Justin Niebank   Engineer
Butch Walker   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer
David Lee Murphy   Composer
Brett James   Composer
Eric Liljestrand   Engineer
Melanie Shelley   grooming
Mike Elizondo   Composer,Programming,Producer
Wendell Mobley   Composer
Keith Urban   Composer,Producer
Stargate   Programming,Producer,Instrumentation
Benny Blanco   Programming,Producer,Instrumentation
Shane McAnally   Composer
Brad Warren   Composer
Brett Warren   Composer
Adam Hawkins   Engineer
Darin Murphy   Booking
Danny D.   Executive Producer
Jason Hall   Engineer
John Hanes   Engineer
Justin Parker   Composer
Kevin Rudolf   Composer
Jaren Johnston   Composer
Ross Copperman   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer
Matt Jenkins   Composer
Jeremy Spillman   Composer
Mikkel Storleer Eriksen   Composer,Engineer
Nathan Chapman   Programming,Producer,Engineer,drum programming
J. Bonilla   Programming
Tim Blacksmith   Executive Producer
Heather Morgan   Composer
Tom Douglas   Composer
Tor Erik Hermansen   Composer
Jimmy Robbins   Composer
Jake Sinclair   Programming,Engineer
Brandy Clark   Composer
Benjamin Levin   Composer
Tony Martin   Composer
Ross Golan   Composer
Jeffery Steele   Composer
Trevor Rosen   Composer
Zach Crowell   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer
Jon Nite   Composer
J.T. Harding   Composer
Sam Hunt   Composer
Dan Omelio   Composer
Ammar Malik   Composer
Ansel L. Davis   Legal Counsel
THS   Art Direction
Nicolle Galyon   Composer
Lynn Tully   grooming
Ernesto Olivera   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews