Game of My Life New York Rangers: Memorable Stories of Rangers Hockey

Game of My Life New York Rangers: Memorable Stories of Rangers Hockey

by John Halligan, John Kreiser

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


Famous games and players have been the hallmark of the New York Rangers from their NHL debut in 1926 to the present day. From Frank Boucher and the original Blueshirts to Jaromir Jagr, the Rangers have thrilled their fans with some of the most memorable performances in hockey history. In this newly revised edition of Game of My Life New York Rangers, John Halligan and John Kreiser share the recollections of over twenty of the most famous names in Rangers history as they discuss the most memorable games in their careers. Boucher describes the Rangers' first game; Clint Smith remembers what it was like to win the Stanley Cup in 1940; Mark Messier and the stars of the 1994 team share their memories of the games that ended the fifty-four-year Cup drought; Wayne Gretzky talks about his final NHL game; and Jagr describes his feelings about setting team scoring records. It's the best kind of anecdotal history, in which the people who made history are the ones doing the telling. Game of My Life New York Rangers takes readers inside the mind of each player and behind the doors of the locker room to reveal what really happened, and how it affected the people who were involved in some of the most memorable moments in New York hockey history.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781613213810
Publisher: Sports Publishing LLC
Publication date: 11/13/2012
Series: Game of My Life
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 272
Sales rank: 481,482
File size: 5 MB

About the Author

John Kreiser has covered the NHL for more than forty years for the Associated Press, Sports Illustrated for Kids, and numerous magazines and websites. He has been in the Stanley Cup–winning locker room for all three New York–area teams and is currently a managing editor for

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments v

I In the Beginning 1

Chapter 1 Frank Boucher 3

Chapter 2 Clint Smith 13

II Downs and Ups 21

Chapter 3 Don Raleigh 23

Chapter 4 Andy Bathgate 31

Chapter 5 Gump Worsley 41

Chapter 6 Harry Howell 51

III Years of the Cat 59

Chapter 7 Rod Gilbert 61

Chapter 8 Vic Hadfield 73

Chapter 9 Emile Francis 79

Chapter 10 Brad Park 91

Chapter 11 Pete Stemkowski 101

Chapter 12 Steve Vickers 111

IV Rebuilt, But Still No Cup 121

Chapter 13 Don Maloney 123

Chapter 14 John Davidson 131

Chapter 15 John Vanbiesbrouck 141

Chapter 16 Mike Gartner 151

V To the Cup… and Beyond 161

Chapter 17 Adam Graves 163

Chapter 18 Mark Messier 171

Chapter 19 Stephane Matteau 187

Chapter 20 Mike Richter 197

Chapter 21 Brian Leetch 207

Chapter 22 Neil Smith 215

Chapter 23 Wayne Gretzky 225

Chapter 24 Jaromir Jagr 241

Chapter 25 Henrik Lundqvist 253

Chapter 26 Marian Gaborik 261

Customer Reviews