Garage Beat '66, Vol. 2: Chicks Are for Kids!

Garage Beat '66, Vol. 2: Chicks Are for Kids!


$14.92 $17.99 Save 17% Current price is $14.92, Original price is $17.99. You Save 17%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, November 25


The second volume in Sundazed's Garage Beat '66 series follows much the same format as its predecessor: 20 garage rockers from all over America, though generally from the rawer end of the spectrum rather than the poppier side. There's a slightly higher concentration of names that'll be at least somewhat known to some of the less specialized listeners, though, including the Guess Who (their 1966 single "Believe Me"), the Remains, the Barbarians (with their crude Merseybeat-influenced debut 45, "Hey Little Bird," which was their best recording), the Litter, the Five Americans (with their 1964 single "I'm Feeling O.K."), We the People, the Spiders (who evolved into Alice Cooper), the Ugly Ducklings (with a previously unreleased version of "I'm a Man"), and the Sonics. That alone is enough to make it a better than average '60s garage compilation, and the sound quality (mastered, unusually for a garage anthology, from original sources) and detailed track-by-track annotation by Ugly Things publisher Mike Stax are other bonuses. As for the rarer, less-anthologized items here, some of these tend toward the more run-of-the-mill garage rock of the era, though the Bold's lewd "Gotta Get Some" (which recalls Paul Revere & the Raiders' toughest moments) and the weird ringing guitar of the Go-Betweens' "Have You for My Own" are ear-catching. The Jynx's 1965 cover of Them's "Little Girl" isn't nearly as exciting as the original, but does possess historical interest for featuring future Big Star member Chris Bell on lead guitar.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/27/2004
Label: Sundazed Music Inc.
UPC: 0090771114020
catalogNumber: 11140
Rank: 86085

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Chris Bell   Guitar
Randy Bachman   Guitar
Burton Cummings   Electric Piano
Michael Bruce   Rhythm Guitar
Bruce Benson   Guitar,Vocals
Robin Boers   Drums
III William Henry Briggs   Harmonica,Keyboards
Glen Buxton   Guitar
Tom "Zippy" Caplan   Guitar
Jerry Causi   Bass,Vocals
Terry Cox   Drums
Bill Cunningham   Organ,Bass
Chip Damiani   Drums
Gus Dewey   Guitar,Vocals
Dennis Dunaway   Bass
Johnny Durrill   Keyboards,Vocals
Norm Ezell   Rhythm Guitar,Vocals
Bryan Garofalo   Bass
Jim Grant   Bass
Larry Hoffman   Organ
Jim Kale   Bass
Jim Kane   Bass
Russ Kunkel   Drums
Dick Lafreniere   Guitar,Vocals
Robert Lapalm   Guitar,Vocals
Rob Lind   Harmonica,Vocals
Roger Mayne   Guitar
Dale Menten   Guitar,Vocals
Vern Miller   Bass
Tom Murray   Drums
Andy Parypa   Bass Guitar,Vocals
Larry Parypa   Guitar
Mike Rabon   Guitar,Vocals
Dan Rinaldi   Rhythm Guitar
Larry Robinson   Rhythm Guitar
Charles Russo   Drums
Bob Bennett   Drums
Tommy Talton   Guitar,Vocals
John Tracey   Drums
Denny Waite   Vocals
Victor Moulton   Drums
Glynn Bell   Rhythm Guitar
Barry Tashian   Guitar,Vocals
Garry Peterson   Drums
Gerald Roslie   Vocals
Robert Ingram   Rhythm Guitar
Vincent Furnier   Harmonica,Vocals
Rob Zolner   Rhythm Guitar,Vocals
Richy Seslowe   Guitar
Bruce Waterston   Drums
Tom Griffin   Drums,Vocals
Mike Harris   Vocals
Steve Runolfsson   Harmonica,Keyboards,Vocals
Jeff Monn   Vocals
Bruce Ginsberg   Drums
Ricky Goldclang   Guitar
Damian Kelly   Bass
Earl Bulinski   Bass,Rhythm Guitar
Jerry Fink   Drums
Gary Omerza   Organ
Bill Bulinski   Guitar
Don Gray   Rhythm Guitar
Steve Walker & the Bold   Bass,Vocals
David Hoback   Rhythm Guitar
Dewitt Shy   Drums
Randy Boyte   Keyboards
David Duff   Bass
Tom Klugherz   Bass
Ron Beckman   Bass
Dave "D.J." Binhgam   Harmonica,Vocals
Alex Brancati   Bass
Bob Brancati   Rhythm Guitar,Vocals
Tommy Cafferty   Guitar
Mike DiPerna   Bass,Vocals
Tom Elfving   Vocals
Marvin Hale   Vocals
Roy "Pinky" Herschleb   Drums
Allan Kowbel   Guitar,Vocals
Hugh Kraemer   Bass
Manaseri   Organ,Saxophone
Steven Maurer   Drums
Gene Olive   Guitar
Rick Perrine   Organ
Tony Postmayer   Guitar
Lynn Rominger   Guitar
Jeff Morris   Guitar,Vocals
Jimmy Wright   Drums
Chris Nelson   Guitar
John Read   Bass
John Barnett   Drums

Technical Credits

Randy Bachman   Composer
Dale Hawkins   Producer
Remains   Producer
Erik Lindgren   Graphic Design
Tom "Zippy" Caplan   Graphic Design
Tom Catalano   Producer
Bill Cunningham   Graphic Design
Dale Davis   Producer
Johnny Durrill   Composer
Russ Kunkel   Producer
Dick Lapalm   Composer
James Lee   Producer
Ellas McDaniel   Composer
Dale Menten   Producer
Van Morrison   Composer
John Neufeld   Graphic Design
Sandy Newman   Producer
Tommy Talton   Composer
Michael Rabon   Composer
Jerry Dennon   Producer
John Hodge   Producer
Ham   Producer
Tony Moon   Producer
Barry Tashian   Composer
Jimmy Madison   Producer
Gerald Roslie   Composer
Rob Zolner   Composer
Warren Kendrick   Composer,Producer
R. Evans   Composer
John P. Dixon   Graphic Design
Steve Runolfsson   Composer
Bob Burns   Producer
Tony Randazzo   Producer
Jynx   Producer
Steve Walker & the Bold   Graphic Design
Dave "D.J." Binhgam   Graphic Design
Bob Brancati   Composer,Graphic Design
Forster S. Cayce   Producer
Concepts   Producer
David Dean   Graphic Design
Mike DiPerna   Graphic Design
Mike Jann   Graphic Design
Pierre Maheu   Producer
Tommy Kaye   Composer
Mike Stax   Liner Notes,Annotation

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews