Garcia Live, Vol. 5: December 31st, 1975 Keystone Berkeley

Garcia Live, Vol. 5: December 31st, 1975 Keystone Berkeley

by Jerry Garcia BandJerry Garcia Band


$16.61 $17.99 Save 8% Current price is $16.61, Original price is $17.99. You Save 8%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The fifth installment of the Garcialive series collects archival footage of the only New Year's Eve show any incarnation of the Jerry Garcia Band performed, recorded at the tiny Berkeley, California club the Keystone on the last day of 1975. Garcia's band of drummer Greg Errico, bassist John Kahn, and keyboardist Nicky Hopkins is joined on the second and third sets by familiar Grateful Dead members Bob Weir and Mickey Hart as well as harmonica player Matthew Kelly on several tracks. A particularly loose, appropriately celebratory feeling flows through much of the sets as the band includes several instrumental interludes, briefly visiting themes like "God Save the Queen" (the traditional melody, not the Sex Pistols version still a few years from coming into existence) and the Beatles' "Mother Nature's Son." When they do get cooking, it's on extended 12-bar blues vamps in the first set like "It Ain't No Use" and "Pig's Boogie," while the second set tends toward laid-back jams like "Catfish John" or shuffling electric blues workouts like "Tore Up Over You."

Product Details

Release Date: 10/21/2014
Label: Ato Records
UPC: 0880882214920
catalogNumber: 221492

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jerry Garcia Band   Primary Artist
Mickey Hart   Guest Appearance
Jerry Garcia   Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Bob Weir   Guest Appearance
Nicky Hopkins   Keyboards,Vocals,Group Member
Greg Errico   Drums,Group Member
John Kahn   Bass,Group Member
Matthew Kelly   Guest Appearance

Technical Credits

Mickey Hart   Composer
Hank Ballard   Composer
Chuck Berry   Composer
Jerry Garcia   Composer,Producer
John Lennon   Composer
Paul McCartney   Composer
Bob Weir   Composer
Robert Hunter   Composer
Nicky Hopkins   Composer
Jerry Williams   Composer
Betty Cantor-Jackson   Engineer
Lamont Dozier   Composer
Greg Errico   Composer
David Gans   Liner Notes
Joe Gastwirt   Producer
Eddie Holland   Composer
Brian Holland   Composer
John Kahn   Composer
Bob McDill   Composer
Allen Reynolds   Composer
Sam Phillips   Composer
Herman Parker   Composer
Marc Allan   Producer
Traditional   Composer
Ryan Corey   Art Direction,Illustrations
Don Hollinger   Composer
Gary Bonds   Composer
Matthew Kelly   Composer

Customer Reviews