Gavin Bryars: After the Requiem

Gavin Bryars: After the Requiem

by Gavin BryarsGavin Bryars

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record)

$15.61 $15.99 Save 2% Current price is $15.61, Original price is $15.99. You Save 2%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


After the Requiem continued Gavin Bryars' journey away from the more experimental work that made his reputation early in his career toward pieces possessing a more melancholic and romantic quality. In two of the works herein, "The Old Tower of Lobenicht" and "Allegrasco," one can hear echoes of his brilliant composing on the Hommages album. But where the romantic elements were stricter and more crystalline on the prior effort, here there is an expansiveness that sometimes succeeds and at other times verges on kitsch. Guitarist Bill Frisell performs on three of the four compositions, but his creamy, sustained chords tend to sound somewhat bland and occasionally subvert some otherwise very attractive melodic material. The standout track is a saxophone quartet number, "Alaric I or II," featuring the surprising presence of Evan Parker. In fact, Bryars' earliest musical ventures were as a member of the British free improvisation community, so the inclusion of Parker has some historical background. The composition is a very enjoyable melange of minimalist technique and references to Gershwin that manages to cohere into a satisfying whole. Fans of Bryars' more substantial work from the '70s or his improvising skills in groups like Joseph Holbrooke may find After the Requiem a little too sweet for their tastes, while listeners who are looking for something a bit meatier than Arvo Part or Henryk Gorecki may find their appetite satisfied.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/31/2009
Label: Ecm Import
UPC: 0042284753715
catalogNumber: 8475371
Rank: 51322

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Gavin Bryars   Primary Artist,Bass
Evan Parker   Soprano Saxophone
Stan Sulzmann   Soprano Saxophone
Martin Allen   Percussion
Julian Arguelles   Baritone Saxophone
Alexander Balanescu   Violin,Viola
Bill Frisell   Electric Guitar
Tony Hinnigan   Cello
Kate Musker   Viola
Ray Warleigh   Alto Saxophone
Roger Heaton   Clarinet,Bass Clarinet
Dave Smith   Piano,Tenor Horn
Simon Limbrick   Percussion
Dave Smith   Piano,Tenor Horn
Dave Smith   Piano,Tenor Horn
Anthony Hinnigan   Cello
Julian Argulles   Baritone Saxophone

Technical Credits

Gavin Bryars   Liner Notes
Manfred Eicher   Producer
Jan Erik Kongshaug   Engineer
Steve Lake   Liner Notes
Dieter Rehm   Cover Design
Jim Bengston   Cover Photo

Customer Reviews