Girl Going Nowhere

Girl Going Nowhere

by Ashley McBrydeAshley McBryde


$7.99 $12.99 Save 38% Current price is $7.99, Original price is $12.99. You Save 38%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


On her debut album, Girl Going Nowhere, Ashley McBryde sounds like an outsider in Nashville. She doesn't attempt to meddle with the electronics that are so in vogue in 2018, yet she doesn't seem overly concerned with conventional notions of country tradition. Certainly, Girl Going Nowhere isn't layered with fiddles and steel guitars: It's a brawny, guitar-heavy affair that doesn't hide its debts to Eric Church. Jay Joyce, the producer of every Church album since 2006's Sinners Like Me, helms Girl Going Nowhere, and he helps give the record muscle and a clean polish, but he's not the one responsible for its success -- McBryde is a tough, soulful singer/songwriter, one who embraces her '80s roots -- roots that aren't limited to country, either. Although the album has echoes of such Nashville rebels as Steve Earle, it can also sound like epic heartland rock, sounds that suit McBryde's finally etched portraits of life in small town U.S.A. "Livin' Next to Leroy" and "A Little Dive Bar in Dahlonega" teem with vivid details about the working class, and she's equally skilled at creating soulful slow-burners like "The Jacket" and "Home Sweet Highway," not to mention open-road anthems like "Radioland." The forceful sound of Girl Going Nowhere may camouflage the subtleties of her songwriting, but it's also an asset, as the production, along with her powerhouse voice, demand attention. Once McBryde has that, she gives you plenty of reasons to return to this exceptional record again and again.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/30/2018
Label: Warner Records
UPC: 0093624907725
catalogNumber: 566217
Rank: 3924

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ashley McBryde   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals
Chris Harris   Acoustic Guitar,Vocal Harmony
Andrew Sovine   Guitar
Quinn Hill   Drums
Jasen Martin   Bass Guitar
Casey Mundy   Bass Guitar

Technical Credits

Jay Joyce   Producer,Engineer
Patrick Savage   Composer
Jesse Rice   Composer
John Peets   Executive Producer
Ashley McBryde   Composer
Autumn McEntire   Composer
Tommy Collier   Composer
Randall Clay   Composer
Mike Moore   Art Direction
Jeremy Bussey   Composer
Blue Foley   Composer
Chris Roberts   Composer
Terri Jo Box   Composer
Jimmy Mansfield   Engineer
Olivia Rudeen   Composer
Nicolette Hayford   Composer
Jaxon Hargrove   Engineer
CJ Field   Composer
Neal Cotty   Composer

Customer Reviews