Gold [Verve]

Gold [Verve]

by Nina Simone



Just one of three similarly titled collections -- all with entirely different track listings, including a Canadian version that has the same design template -- the American version of Nina Simone's Gold concentrates on the jazz iconoclast's recordings between 1964 and 1969. (The period covers her time on Philips and the first few years of her RCA contract, to which are added two 1987 tracks from Verve.) At the height of the protest movement, Simone was gaining new fans by the thousands with her strident performance of "Mississippi Goddam" or her suitably harrowing cover of Screamin' Jay Hawkins' "I Put a Spell on You" (which became her biggest hit). Simone was performing all manner of material during these years, including traditional songs such as "Sinnerman," songs from her own pen ("Four Women," "To Be Young, Gifted and Black," "Revolution"), and covers that, no matter how surprising, managed to be overwhelmed by her powerful persona -- everything from Chuck Berry's "Brown Eyed Handsome Man" to the Bee Gees' "To Love Somebody" to a Jimmy Webb song, "Do What You Gotta Do." It's difficult to recommend concentrating this hard on a short period of virtually anyone's career -- room is even made for some non-album material, including the odd novelty B-side "A Monster" -- but there's a healthy percentage of Nina Simone's best work here, and a lot to love for her biggest fans.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/09/2007
Label: Verve
UPC: 0602517397248
catalogNumber: 000940802

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Nina Simone   Primary Artist,Conductor
Jimmy Wisner   Conductor

Technical Credits

George Gershwin   Composer
Nina Simone   Arranger,Composer
Chuck Berry   Composer
Jacques Brel   Composer
Gilbert Bécaud   Composer
Hal Mooney   Arranger,Producer,Orchestra Director
Robin Gibb   Composer
Weldon Irvine   Composer
Van McCoy   Composer
Charles Aznavour   Composer
Galt MacDermot   Composer
Jimmy Wisner   Arranger
Barry Gibb   Composer
Angelo Badalamenti   Composer
Bennie Benjamin   Composer
Leslie Bricusse   Composer
Danny Davis   Producer
Pierre Delanoë   Composer
Walter Donaldson   Composer
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Jalacy Hawkins   Composer
Gus Kahn   Composer
Anthony Newley   Composer
Horace Ott   Arranger,Orchestra Director
Joe Rene   Producer
Marcel Stellman   Composer
Nick Woods   Composer
David Nathan   Liner Notes
Rudy Stevenson   Composer
James Rado   Composer
Gerome Ragni   Composer
David Redfern   Inlay Photography
David Kreisberg   Producer
Ron Berinstein   Producer
Miriam Cutler   Producer
Jean-Pierre Leloir   Cover Photo,Inlay Photography
DuBose Heyward   Composer
Sol Marcus   Composer
Jessie Mae Robinson   Composer
Yves Stephane   Composer
Andy Stroud   Composer
Richard Ahlert   Composer
George Bass   Composer
Gloria Caldwell   Composer
John Clifford   Composer
Waring Cuney   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Stuart Nicholson   Liner Notes
Ryan Null   Photo Coordination
Dan Kitchner   Illustrations

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews