Graham Salisbury: Island Boy

Graham Salisbury: Island Boy

by David Macinnis Gill


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Graham Salisbury, winner of the Scott O'Dell and Boston Globe-Horn Book Awards, grew up in Hawaii during the 1950's, and the lion's share of his fiction is set there. He writes about boys of all races trying to carve an identity for themselves and struggling to make moral decisions as they grow into manhood. The first section of this book chronicles the labyrinthine path of Salisbury's life and career: from barefoot island boy to college dropout, from bubblegum pop musician to schoolteacher, and from real estate manager to young adult author. The book then offers a critical context for Salisbury's work, discussing his novels in terms of plot and style: analyzing literary themes and examining critical responses to his work. Salisbury's use of archetypes and the coming of age stories that dominate his work are explored in depth. Fans are also treated to a peek at some of Salisbury's future projects. Librarians, teachers, and teen readers will find this critical biography to be a useful resource for the library, classroom, and reference bookshelf.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780810853386
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, Inc.
Publication date: 06/22/2005
Series: Studies in Young Adult Literature Series , #20
Pages: 136
Product dimensions: 6.74(w) x 8.76(h) x 0.71(d)
Age Range: 13 - 17 Years

About the Author

David Gill is an associate professor of English education at the University of North Carolina at Wilmington, where he specializes in young adult literature. He is the author of many short stories, essays, and other articles and has served on the Board of Directors of ALAN (Assembly on Literature for Adolescents of NCTE).

Table of Contents

Part 1 Acknowledgments Part 2 Preface: Aloha Part 3 Chronology Part 4 Introduction: The Islands Chapter 5 1. Island Boy: The Life and Career of Graham Salisbury Chapter 6 2. Hai Moolelo: Blue Skin of the Sea and Island Boyz Chapter 7 3. Makuakane and Keiki Kane: Lord of the Deep Chapter 8 4. Ohana and Kanaka e: Shark Bait and Jungle Dogs Chapter 9 5. Mana olana: Under the Blood-Red Sun and Eyes of the Emperor Chapter 10 6. One Hero: The Monomyth in the Novels of Graham Salisbury Part 11 Conclusion: Aloha Again Part 12 Selected Bibliography Part 13 Index Part 14 About the Author

Customer Reviews