Guv'nor, Vol. 4

Guv'nor, Vol. 4

by Ashley HutchingsAshley Hutchings


$21.88 $22.99 Save 5% Current price is $21.88, Original price is $22.99. You Save 5%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The fourth -- and final? -- Ashley Hutchings collection is as chock-full of goodies and rarities as the previous three. (Why not just slap them out as a box, Ashley?) It begins auspiciously, with Sandy Denny singing "Both Sides Now" while fronting Fairport Convention, and slips right into a demo version of "Fotheringay" by the same outfit. Yet rather than move right through to the Albion Band, there is a break for just a moment as listeners are taken deep inside a beautiful medley of traditional tunes by the Etchingham Steam Band, then three by the Albion Dance Band and five by the Albion Band split into two parts. On top of all this are various Hutchings solo and collaborative works and his own playing and singing (with Maddy Prior) on a pair of cuts by Len Hutchings. In sum, this is a great collection. Compare these four volumes to the Richard Thompson self-issued box set and you'll see why this material is so superior.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/16/2008
Label: Imports
UPC: 5026389934021
catalogNumber: 1421894
Rank: 150560

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ashley Hutchings   Primary Artist
Albion Band   Track Performer
Martin Carthy   Acoustic Guitar
Shirley Collins   Vocals
Sandy Denny   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Fairport Convention   Track Performer
Richard Thompson   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals
Julie Covington   Vocals
Simon Nicol   Acoustic Guitar,Autoharp,Electric Guitar,Vocals
Dave Pegg   Electric Guitar
Phil Beer   Fiddle,Electric Guitar,Vocals
Peter Bullock   Keyboards,Baritone Saxophone
Paul Burgess   Drums
Judy Dyble   Vocals
Trevor Foster   Drums
Michael Hebbert   Concertina
Eric Hine   Keyboards
Ian Holder   Accordion
Martin Lamble   Drums
Cathy Lesurf   Vocals
Dave Mattacks   Drums,Keyboards
Ian Matthews   Vocals
Doug Morter   Vocals
Ken Nicol   Acoustic Guitar,Drums,Electric Guitar,Vocals
Terry Potter   Mouth Organ
Alan Prosser   Electric Guitar
Jean-Pierre Rasle   Harmonica,Vocals,Electric Bagpipes
John Tams   Vocals,Melodeon
Graeme Taylor   Electric Guitar
Dave Whetstone   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals,Melodeon
Etchingham Steam Band   Track Performer
Julie Matthews   Keyboards,Vocals
Chris While   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Philip Pickett   Recorder
Ric Sanders   Fiddle
Allison Diamond   Tenor Saxophone
Albion Dance Band   Track Performer
Len Hutchings   Piano
Michael Gregory   Percussion,Drums
Ken Nichol   Track Performer

Technical Credits

Shirley Collins   Contributor
Sandy Denny   Composer
John Lennon   Composer
Paul McCartney   Composer
Ashley Hutchings   Composer
Ken Nicol   Programming
David Suff   Compilation Assistant
Steve Giles   Compilation Assistant
Eddie Garvey   Cover Photo
Michael Gregory   Compilation Assistant

Customer Reviews