Harkaway's Sixth Column

Harkaway's Sixth Column

by Max Hennessy

NOOK Book(eBook)

$0.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

One brave task force will take on an army.

It is the summer of 1940 – and Italian forces have entered British Somaliland. While this invasion is in progress, a small party of British soldiers is on its way to destroy a supply dump in the desert hills.

Strafed by Italian planes, the young lieutenant in command is killed – leaving behind four non-commissioned soldiers and the civilian driver. Cut off behind enemy lines – their radio dead, their chances of escape few – they decide to utilise the arms dump and fight a daring rearguard.

Led by the mysterious Corporal Harkaway, and aided by local warring tribes, they create an extraordinary fighting unit whose skill and ferocity will play havoc with the enemy.

An extraordinary tale of WWII, of a rogue unit versus seemingly insurmountable odds, ideal for fans of Alistair MacLean, Jack Higgins and David Black.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781800320857
Publisher: Canelo Digital Publishing Ltd
Publication date: 08/17/2020
Series: The WWII Italian Collection , #1
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 189,240
File size: 3 MB

About the Author

Max Hennessy was the pen-name of John Harris. He had a wide variety of jobs from sailor to cartoonist and became a highly inventive, versatile writer. In addition to crime fiction, Hennessy was a master of the war novel and drew heavily on his experiences in both the navy and air force, serving in the Second World War. His novels reflect the reality of war mixed with a heavy dose of conflict and adventure.

Customer Reviews