He Named Me Malala [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]

He Named Me Malala [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]

by Thomas NewmanThomas Newman


View All Available Formats & Editions
4 New & Used Starting at $2.99


Directed by Davis Guggenheim (An Inconvenient Truth, It Might Get Loud), He Named Me Malala is a documentary about Pakistani Nobel Peace Prize laureate and girls' education advocate Malala Yousafzai, who was critically wounded by a gunshot on her way home from school at age 15, a target of the Taliban. The film's score, by award-winning composer Thomas Newman (Skyfall, American Beauty, Finding Nemo), tackles the profound subject matter with intimate strings, woodwinds, harp, and piano, as well as more percussive regional Asian influences and atmospheric female vocals ("I Am Malala," "Speak What Is in Your Soul"). Occasionally sentimental but mostly atmospheric and reverent, the score recording provides over 50 minutes of original music.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/30/2015
Label: Sony Classics
UPC: 0888751537125
catalogNumber: 515371

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Thomas Newman   Primary Artist,Conductor,Soloist
John Beasley   Soloist
Sid Page   Violin,Concert Master
John Acosta   Cello
Jacqueline Brand   Violin
Darius Campo   Violin
George Doering   Soloist
Barry Gold   Cello
Melissa "Missy" Hasin   Cello
Paula Hochhalter   Cello
Dennis Karmazyn   Cello
Peter Kent   Violin
Gina Kronstadt   Violin
Dimitrie Leivici   Violin
Carolyn Litchfield   Cello
Michael Markman   Violin
Edward Meares   Double Bass
Cheryl Norman   Violin
Carol Pool   Violin
Jay Rosen   Violin
Steve Tavaglione   Soloist
Christina Soule   Cello
Julie Rogers   Violin
Christian Kollgaard   Double Bass
Timothy Landauer   Cello
Yu Tong Sharp   Violin
Jennie Hansen   Viola
Keith Greene   Viola
Robert Berg   Viola
Jennifer Munday   Violin
Michael Valerio   Double Bass
John Hayhurst   Viola
Kathleen Robertson   Violin
Liane Mautner   Violin
Sarah Thornblade   Violin
Carolyn Riley   Violin,Viola
Jennifer Levin   Violin
Vahe Hayrikyan   Cello
Dave Walther   Viola
Marina Manukian   Violin
Elizabeth Hedman   Violin
Robert Matsuda   Violin
Sharon Jackson   Violin
Armen Movsessian   Violin
Aaron Oltman   Viola
Kevin Connelly   Violin
Stephen Dress   Double Bass
Nina Evthuhov   Violin
Maia Jasper   Violin
Christine Frank   Violin
Thomas Diener   Viola
Victoria Miskolczy   Viola
Erika Duke-Kirkpatrick   Cello
Matt Cooker   Cello
Phillip Levy   Violin
Marlow Fisher   Viola
Amy Hershberger   Violin
Tamara Hatwan   Violin
Mario de León   Violin
Sam Fischer   Violin
Matthew Funes   Viola
Kate Reddish   Viola
Sarah Parkins   Violin
Timothy Eckert   Double Bass
Meredith Crawford   Viola
Ashoka Thiagarajan   Violin
Eric Rynearson   Viola
Thomas Harte   Double Bass
Jessica E. Guideri   Violin
Bruce Morganthaler   Double Bass
Xiao-Dan Zheng   Cello
Lisa Donglinger   Violin
Tiffany Hu   Violin
Jeff Bandy   Double Bass
Cassandra Richburg   Viola
Sam Fischer   Violin

Technical Credits

Larry Mah   Engineering
Thomas Newman   Composer,Producer
J.A.C. Redford   Orchestration
Tommy Vicari   Engineer
Bill Bernstein   Producer
David Guggenheim   Liner Notes
Mark Cavell   Licensing
Shinnosuke Miyazawa   Engineer,Digital Coordinator
Evan Krauss   Legal Counsel
Klara Korytowska   Product Development
Gray Krauss   Legal Counsel

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews