Heaven Is Waiting [Bonus Tracks]

Heaven Is Waiting [Bonus Tracks]

by The Danse SocietyThe Danse Society


$16.14 $16.99 Save 5% Current price is $16.14, Original price is $16.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, April 2


Big things were expected after Arista won an early-'80s bidding war for this U.K. quintet, but this outing was as far as they got. Heavy on gloomy atmosphere, thanks to the somber vocals of Steve Rawlings, but short on memorable songs, Heaven Is Waiting failed to deliver on the promise Danse Society displayed early in their career. However, the album isn't without interest. Augmented by Lyndon Scarfe's keyboard work, the group gave their brand of goth rock a high-tech makeover that was unusual in their day, and is still appealing in small doses. The powerful title track became one of the definitive goth dance anthems of the '80s, alongside similar cuts like Bauhaus' "Kick in the Eye" and Sisters of Mercy's "This Corrosion." Built on a bed of ominously ticking sequencers that spiral into an abrasive, memorable chorus, it's the group's career highlight. Nothing else here is as good, although "Red Light (Shine)" and "Angel" mine the same fertile territory with some success. But the cover of the Stones' "2000 Light Years From Home" never quite takes off, and by side two there's more dark style on display than actual songs. The album is worth seeking out for the handful of choice tracks, although a definitive greatest-hits collection would presumably make that unnecessary. (Note to collectors: the British version of the album contains four bonus tracks.)

Product Details

Release Date: 04/02/2002
Label: Anagram Gothic
UPC: 5013929331426
catalogNumber: 14
Rank: 68074

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Danse Society   Primary Artist
Paul Nash   Guitar
Stephen Rawlings   Vocals
Paul Gilmartin   Drums
Lyndon Scarfe   Keyboards

Technical Credits

Danse Society   Composer,Remixing
Phil Thornalley   Engineer
Ian Caple   Engineer
Will Gosling   Remixing
Nigel Gray   Producer
Andy Jackson   Producer
James Phelan   Cover Design
Don Wright   Composer
P.J. Swift   Original Sleeve Design
Lyndon Scarfe   Liner Notes
Vaughan Arnell   Original Sleeve Design
Richard Hartley   Producer

Customer Reviews