Heifetz Transcriptions

Heifetz Transcriptions

by Su Yeon LeeSu Yeon Lee


2 New & Used Starting at $3.10


A whole disc of Heifetz transcriptions? A whole disc of Heifetz encores would be more accurate. With every work either a breathless display of rampant virtuosity or of shameless display of rank sentimentality or both at the same time, this is disc so consistently amazing that it's ultimately exhausting. One or two or maybe even three tracks are astounding; more than that may be too much. It's not at all the performers' fault. Young Korean violinist Su Yeon Lee clearly has the technique to play anything that Heifetz could play, from détaché sixty-fourth note runs to spiccato triple-stops to pianissississimo glissandos double-stops, and pianist Michael Chertock keeps pace with her every measure of the way. It's that the music is so quintessentially virtuosic that the sheer of intensity of the program can be numbing if heard all at once. Try Lee's supersonic tempo in Rimsky-Korsakov's "Flight of the Bumble Bee" or her sensual textures in Debussy's "Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune" or her exquisite vibrato in Foster's "Jeanie with the Light Brown Hair." Or try her insouciant tone in Prokofiev's March from "The Love for the Three Oranges" or her cool soto voce in Gluck's "Dance of the Blessed Spirits" or her hushed intimacy in "Deep River" or her unbridled passion in Dinicu's "Hora Staccato." But unless you're prepared, don't try them all: it could wear you out. Although it is abundantly clear Lee can do anything Heifetz could do technically, it will be necessary to hear her in longer works before determining if she can do anything Heifetz could do interpretatively. Still, as an impressive introduction to an outstanding young violinist, this disc certainly serves a purpose. Naxos' sound is clean and clear, but not particularly present.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/18/2006
Label: Naxos
UPC: 0747313267026
catalogNumber: 8557670


  1. Nocturne, arrangement for violin & piano (after Chopin's Op. 55/2)
  2. Dance No.4, arrangement for violin & piano (after Krien's Dance Suite, Op. 44)
  3. Jeanie with the Light Brown Hair, arrangement for violin & piano (after Foster)
  4. Flight of the Bumblebee, arrangement for violin & piano (after Rimsky-Korsakov's Tale of Tsar Sultan)
  5. Dance of the Blessed Spirits (Melody), arrangement (from "Orfeo ed Euridice")
  6. March, arrangement for violin & piano (after Prokofiev's "The Love for Three Oranges")
  7. Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune, arrangement for violin & piano (after Debussy)
  8. Tango, arrangement for violin & piano (after "Two Maids Wooing" from Castelnuovo-Tedesco's Shakespeare Songs)
  9. Deep River, arrangement of spiritual for violin & piano
  10. Masks, arrangement for violin & piano (after Prokofiev's Romeo and Juliet)
  11. Along the Silent Forest Path, arrangement for violin & piano (after R. Strauss song, Op. 9/1)
  12. Ao pé da fogueira (By the bonfire), arrangement for violin & piano (after F. Valle's Preludio 15)
  13. Sevilla, arrangement for violin & piano (after No. 3 of Albéniz's Suite española, Op. 47)
  14. Hora staccato (After Grigoras Dinicu)
  15. Golliwog's Cake-Walk, arrangement for violin & piano (after Debussy)
  16. Romanza, arrangement for violin & piano (after Dohnányí's Suite for Orchestra, Op. 19)
  17. Estrellita, arrangement for violin & piano (after Ponce's song)
  18. Selections (5) from Gershwin's Porgy and Bess, arrangement for violin & piano: A woman is a sometime thing

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews