Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass Series #3)

Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass Series #3)

Audio CD(Unabridged)

$14.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

Celaena has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak-but at an unspeakable cost. Now, she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth . . . a truth about her heritage that could change her life-and her future-forever. Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. Will Celaena find the strength to not only fight her inner demons, but to take on the evil that is about to be unleashed?

The bestselling series that has captured readers all over the world reaches new heights in this sequel to the New York Times best-selling Crown of Midnight. Packed with heart-pounding action, fierce new characters, and swoon-worthy romance, this third book will enthrall readers from start to finish.

Editorial Reviews

School Library Journal - Audio

★ 02/01/2015
Gr 10 Up—In the third book of the series, Celaena knows she cannot kill the king and crown prince of Wendlyn, the task given to her by the King of Adarlan, and she knows that the price will be the lives of those she loves. Her only hope is to find Maeve, queen of the Fae, and find out how to undo the power of Adarlan's king. Forced by Maeve to prove her worth, Celaena must train with Rowan, a Fae prince, and learn to harness her magical powers if she has any hope of saving the world. Love, loss, and loyalty collide and Maas has created a believable world and flawed characters; the combination will leave listeners eager for more. Elizabeth Evans conveys Celaena's temperament and mood perfectly and gives life to Maas's large cast of characters. Fans of the past books in the series will not be disappointed with this installment and teen fans of George R.R. Martin's "Song of Ice and Fire" and Robert Jordan's "Wheel of Time" series will be captivated as well. VERDICT The latest entry in this engaging series is highly recommended.—Sarah Flood, Breckinridge County Public Library, Hardinsburg, KY

From the Publisher

The pages fly by. Series fans will be relieved to hear that this installment is only the halfway point, and thanks to Maas' adroit plot maneuvers, well-wrought characters, and immersive world building, they'll be positively hooked for the forthcoming volumes.” —Booklist

“Readers will devour Maas's latest entry. The plot remains fast paced, balancing scenes of intense action with emotionally wrenching interactions between characters . . . A must-purchase.” —School Library Journal

“Tension snowballs into devastating twists and an absolutely riveting ending . . . Will leave readers ravenous for more.” —Kirkus Reviews

"With a finely tuned plot, colorful characters and twists galore, Maas shines as a brilliant storyteller. You'll be swept away by the characters' new challenges and triumphs, while Manon Blackbeak's introduction adds exciting and sharp depth... The most exhilarating installment yet." - RT Book Reviews, Top Pick

Awards for Crown of Midnight: A New York Times and USA Today bestseller

“An epic fantasy readers will immerse themselves in and never want to leave.” —Kirkus Reviews on Crown of Midnight

“Series fans will be satisfied not only by the intricate plot, dishy romance, and rich world building but they will be thrilled by the prospect of deepening adventures in the next volume.” —Booklist on Crown of Midnight

“With assassinations, betrayal, love and magic, this novel has something to match everyone's interests, without feeling cluttered. The action will carry you right to the end, leaving you eager for the next installment.” —Romantic Times Book Reviews on Crown of Midnight

Awards for Throne of Glass: A Kirkus Best Teen Book of 2012, Amazon.com Best Book of 2012, YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults, and MTV Hollywood Crush Best YA Book of 2012 Nominee

“A thrilling read.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review, on Throne of Glass

“A must-read for lovers of epic fantasy and fairy tales.” —USA Today on Throne of Glass

“A welcome breath of fresh air to the oft-neglected epic fantasy field.” —Tor.com on Throne of Glass

“Fans of Tamora Pierce and George R.R. Martin, pick up this book!” —Romantic Times Book Reviews on Throne of Glass

School Library Journal

08/01/2014
Gr 8 Up—In this installment of the fantasy series, Celaena's true identity has been revealed. While on an assassin's errand in Wendlyn, she spends her days drinking and brawling, lost in the pain and anger caused by Chaol's betrayal and Nehemia's death. Queen Maeve of the Fae has different plans for Celaena, and sends Fae Prince Rowan to fetch the heroine and train her in the ways of fairy magic. Celaena begrudgingly agrees by striking a bargain: she learns magic, and Maeve shares her knowledge of the Wyrdkeys and how the king might be defeated. Meanwhile, in Adarlan, Chaol enters a tenuous alliance with the king's general, Adeion Ashryver, to support the underground resistance movement, and Prince Dorian continues to try to control his own newly found magical abilities, or risk being executed by his father. Readers will devour Maas's latest entry. The plot remains fast paced, balancing scenes of intense action with emotionally wrenching interactions between characters. Intriguing backstories continue to develop, vacillating between thrilling and heartbreaking, leaving readers to guess where alliances truly lie. While the story continues to be told from multiple perspectives, the addition of new characters brings tangled new relationships and dimension to the plot. Those unfamiliar with the previous titles will have a difficult time keeping up, but this is a must-purchase for libraries owning Throne of Glass (2012) and Crown of Midnight (2013, both Bloomsbury).—Kelsey Johnson-Kaiser, Columbus Public Library, WI

Kirkus Reviews

2014-07-16
Magic, painful truths and dangerous military escalations characterize this series continuation. Celaena Sardothien's in Wendlyn, ordered by the villainous king of Adarlan to assassinate Wendlyn's royals, or he'll execute her ex and the family of her dead best friend, Nehemia. Celaena—the presumed-dead rightful queen of the conquered Terrasen—plans on finding a way to destroy the king of Adarlan's sources of power, in fulfillment of a vow made on Nehemia's grave. Celaena seeks out the Fae Queen Maeve for information; cunning Maeve refuses until Celaena proves herself (with the help of a prickly, elite warrior Fae trainer) by embracing her hated demi-Fae heritage and magic. Celaena, grieving, goes through dark emotional times and must confront her scarred psyche in order to return to the unapologetically awesome heroine readers know and love. Meanwhile, there's a lot going on: A witch deals with clan politics (Adarlan's king makes them his wyvern-riding airborne cavalry), Chaol attempts to protect Dorian from his own magic, a healer falls for Dorian and more. The jumps from narrative to narrative initially detract from the story's momentum, but multiple perspectives on Adarlan's grotesque schemes and tactics eventually pay off. Despite the slow beginning, tension snowballs into devastating twists and an absolutely riveting ending. Maas' usual hallmarks—an epic fantasy setting and the little-exploited truth that platonic relationships can be more intense and compelling than romantic—are present in force. Will leave readers ravenous for more. (Fantasy. 14 & up)

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781491586587
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Publication date: 10/14/2014
Series: Throne of Glass Series , #3
Edition description: Unabridged
Pages: 17
Sales rank: 379,429
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 6.50(h) x 1.70(d)
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

Customer Reviews