High Noon [Box Set]

High Noon [Box Set]

by Tex RitterTex Ritter
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


High Noon is the second four-disc box set in Bear Family's revival of Tex Ritter's complete recordings. Picking up where the previous set, Blood on the Saddle, left off, High Noon covers the years 1947-1954, and includes every recording Ritter made for Capitol during that period. The set contains all four versions of the song "High Noon" and the hits "Deck of Cards," "Pecos Bill," "Rock and Rye," and "Daddy's Last Letter." Rather than presenting the material in strict chronological order as Bear Family often does, the set is organized thematically, with Ritter's country, western, and pop recordings on the first two discs, patriotic and religious songs on the third, and children's songs on the fourth. The children's songs are entertaining for listeners of all ages, since Ritter's charismatic performances are funny and unique. The range of material on High Noon is extremely eclectic and not always western in orientation, but Ritter was a true original who richly deserves the deluxe treatment.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/13/2000
Label: Bear Family
UPC: 4000127163561
catalogNumber: 16356
Rank: 69567


Disc 1

  1. High Noon (Do Not Forsake Me)
  2. Pecos Bill
  3. Dallas Darling
  4. Tehena, Timpson, Bob and Blair
  5. Rock and Rye
  6. The Eyes of Texas Are upon You
  7. Boogie Woogie Cowboy
  8. He's a Cowboy Auctioneer
  9. Tennessee Blues
  10. As Long as the River Flows On
  11. When My Blue Moon Turns to Gold Again
  12. When It's Springtime in the Rockies
  13. Buffalo Dream
  14. The Marshall's Daughter
  15. The San Antonio Story
  16. Let Me Go Devil
  17. The Lonf Black Rifle
  18. Brave Man
  19. Lovely Veil of White
  20. The Best Time of All
  21. Your Heart and My Heart Are One
  22. Prairie Home
  23. The Bandit
  24. High Noon (Do Not Forsake Me)
  25. High Noon (Do Not Forsake Me)
  26. High Noon (Do Not Forsake Me)

Disc 2

  1. I've Had Enough of Your Two-Timin' (You've Had Enough of My Bankroll)
  2. Never Mind My Tears
  3. Waitin' and a Worryin'
  4. I Just Calles to Say Goodbye
  5. Careless Hands
  6. Ol' Shorty
  7. Nobody's Fool
  8. I've Got Five Dollars and It's Saturday Night
  9. Coal Smoke, Valve and Ir's Saturday Night
  10. Boiled Crawfish (At Te Maurice)
  11. Stay Away from My Heart
  12. Wearing Out Your Walkin' Shoes
  13. Big Blue Diamonds
  14. From the World of Love
  15. Three Handed Woman
  16. You're Always Brand New
  17. There's No One to Cry over Me
  18. My Bucket's Been Fixed
  19. If I Could Steal You from Somebody Else
  20. Rock All the Babies to Sleep
  21. The Letter Edged in Black
  22. When It's Lamplighting Time in the Valley
  23. Go on, Get Out
  24. Hills of Pride
  25. Everybody Likes a Little Lovin'
  26. Love You as Big as Texas
  27. My Woman Ain't Pretty (But She Don't Swear None)
  28. Turn Around, Boy
  29. High on a Mountain Top

Disc 3

  1. Red Deck of Cards
  2. A Beautiful Life
  3. Hide Me, Rock of Ages
  4. Thief on the Cross
  5. Give the World a Smile
  6. Onward Christian Soldiers
  7. There Shall Be Showers of Blessings
  8. Lord, Send an Angel
  9. The Touch of the Master's Hand
  10. The Pledge of Allegiance
  11. The Gettysburg Address
  12. The Fiery Bear
  13. Daddy's Last Letter (A Letter from Korea)
  14. The Great American Eagle
  15. The Red Deck of Cards
  16. Jesus Loves Me
  17. I'll Be a Sunbeam
  18. Two Little Hands/ Jesus Loves the Little Children
  19. Little Feet Be Careful/ Away in a Manger
  20. Jesus Loves Me
  21. Merry Christmas Polka
  22. Is There a Santa Claus
  23. Old Tex Kringle
  24. Skybird, Pt. 1
  25. Skybird, Pt. 2
  26. Skybird, Pt. 3
  27. Skybird, Pt. 4

Disc 4

  1. Cofffe Pot
  2. The Green Grass Grew All Around
  3. Talk Gobbler Talk (Old Gobbler, the Hound Dog)
  4. A Whale of a Tale
  5. Animal Fair
  6. Cactus Jackson Had a Ranch
  7. I Was Born a Hunderd Years Ago
  8. Thank You
  9. Egg-A-Bread
  10. Big Rock Candy Mountain
  11. Yankee Doodle
  12. She'll Be Comin' Round the Mountain
  13. I'll Be a Sunbeam
  14. Chicken, My Chicken
  15. The Picnic Song
  16. The Cricket Song
  17. If You Whistle
  18. Blue Tail, the Red Fox
  19. The Noise Song
  20. Mr. Buzzard
  21. Carbon, the Copy Cat
  22. One Misty Moisty Morning
  23. Muskrat
  24. Little Wendy Why Why
  25. Has Anybody Seen My Kitty
  26. Two Little Magic Words (Please and Thank You)
  27. Pick up After You
  28. Happy Hands
  29. It Doesn't Hurt a Bit to Be Polite

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Tex Ritter   Primary Artist,Guitar,Leader,Vocals,Recitation
Joe Maphis   Guitar
Merle Travis   Guitar,Vocals
Baxter   Leader
Ray Linn   Trumpet
Dominic Frontiere   Accordion
Jack Marshall   Guitar,Drums
Van Alexander   Leader
Johnny Bond   Guitar
Felix Slatkin   Violin
Si Zentner   Trombone
Frank Carlson   Drums
David Cavanaugh   Organ
John Cave   French Horn
Joe Comfort   Bass
Conrad Gozzo   Trumpet
Irving Cottler   Drums,Xylophone
Gene Englund   Bass
Roy Harte   Drums
Milt Holland   Drums
Joseph E. Howard   Leader
Jules Jacob   Saxophone
Jules Kinsler   Flute,Saxophone
Dan Lube   Violin
Murray McEachern   Trombone
Andy Parker   Guitar,Leader
Lou Raderman   Violin
Paul Robyn   Viola
Mischa Russell   Violin
Pat Ryan   Tom-Tom
Ray Sherman   Piano
Marshall Sosson   Violin,Vocals
Starlighters   Vocals
Reginald W. Ward   Bass
Allen Williams   Bass
Vincent DeRosa   French Horn
Lee Gillette   Drums
Eleanor Slatkin   Cello
Rex Call   Fiddle
Ernie Hunter   Fiddle
Eugine Rogers   Guitar,Guica
Eudice Shapiro   Violin
Phil Sobel   Saxophone
Jack Hansen   Trumpet
Harold Hensley   Fiddle,Vocals
Eddie Kirk   Guitar,Leader
Emanuel Klein   Trumpet
Wesley Webb West   Steel Guitar
Jimmie Widener   Guitar
Paul Sells   Organ,Accordion,Leader
Paul Andrew Smith   Bass
Deuce Spriggins   Bass
Wesley Tuttle   Guitar,Steel Guitar,Vocals
Arthur Shapiro   Bass
Ivy J. "Jimmy" Bryant   Guitar
Sleazy Christopherson   Fiddle
William Edward "Billy" Liebert   Organ,Accordion
Kathryn Tompson   Harp
Simon Zenther   Trombone
Ray Klein   Trombone
Misha Russel   Violin
Lew Stevenson   Tom-Tom
Robert MacGimsey   Vocals,Human Whistle,Whistle (Instrument)
Abe Siegel   Bass
Milton Curtis "Muddy" Berry   Drums
Luther Roundtree   Guitar
Country Washburne   Leader
Paul Smith   Bass
Dale Henry Warren   Bass
Margie Ann Warren   Fiddle
Harry (Simovitz) Sims   Fiddle
Donald D. Davis   Steel Guitar
Andy Wolkowsky   Guitar
Cactus Soldi   Fiddle
Frank Juricek   Steel Guitar
Johnny Douglas   Accordion
George Bamby   Accordion
Henry Hill   Violin
Henry "Butch" Stone   Saxophone
Agapito "Pete" Martinez   Steel Guitar
Henry Morton   Bass
Donald Robertson   Piano,Leader

Technical Credits

Tex Ritter   Composer,Sound Effects
Buddy Cole   Composer
T. Texas Tyler   Composer
Ken Nelson   Producer
Jay Ranellucci   Metal Transfers
Bob Sullivan   Engineer
Lee Gillette   Producer
Otto Kitsinger   Discographical Assistant
Curt Poulton   Composer
Dean Upson   Composer
Leverett   Illustrations
R.A. Andreas   Illustrations
Richard Weize   Reissue Producer,Discographical Assistant
Edith Bergdahl   Composer
Holger Von Bargen   Art Direction
Larry Zwisohn   Discographical Assistant
Kevin Coffey   Discographical Assistant
Michael Ochs Archives   Illustrations
Milton Leeds   Composer
William B. Bradbury   Composer
Wolfgang Taubenauer   Artwork
Packy Smith   Illustrations,Biographical Information,Biographical Notes
Traditional   Composer
Anne Warner   Composer
Frank Harford   Composer
Brantley C. George   Composer
Frances Kane   Composer
Gil Ward   Composer
Joe Lyons   Composer

Customer Reviews