High Time

High Time

by MC5MC5


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


MC5 were nearing the end of their long and bumpy trail when they cut High Time in 1971, and it was widely ignored upon initial release. While it lacks the flame-thrower energy and "off the man!" politics of Kick Out the Jams or the frantic pace and "AM Radio of the People" sound of Back in the USA, High Time sounds like MC5's relative equivalent to the Velvet Underground's Loaded, their last and most accessible album, but still highly idiosyncratic and full of well-written, solidly played tunes. Fred Smith's "Sister Anne" and "Skunk (Sonically Speaking)" bookend the album with a pair of smart, solidly performed hard rockers (bolstered by fine horn charts), and Wayne Kramer's "Poison" ranks with the best songs he brought to the band (he later revived it for his solo album The Hard Stuff). For a group that was apparently on the verge of collapse, MC5 approach this material with no small amount of skill and enthusiasm, and Geoffrey Haslam's production gives the band a big, punchy sound that suits them better than the lean, trebly tone of Back in the USA. It's interesting to imagine what MC5's history might have been like if High Time had been their first or second album rather than their last; while less stridently political than their other work, musically it's as uncompromising as anything they ever put to wax and would have given them much greater opportunities to subvert America's youth if the kids had ever had the chance to hear it.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/04/1992
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227103422
catalogNumber: 71034
Rank: 66401

Album Credits

Performance Credits

MC5   Primary Artist
Rob Tyner   Harmonica,Maracas,Vocals
Dave Morgan   Percussion
Pete Kelly   Piano
Wayne Kramer   Guitar,Piano,Keyboards,Vocals,Background Vocals
Dan Bullock   Trombone
Ellis Dee   Percussion
Bobby Wayne Derminer   Percussion
Marlene Driscoll   Vocals
Rick Ferretti   Trumpet,Saxophone
Dave Heller   Percussion
Leon Henderson   Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Joanne Hill   Vocals
Larry Horton   Trombone
Skip Knapp   Organ
Brenda Knight   Vocals
Kinki Lepew   Percussion
Charles Moore   Trumpet,Flugelhorn,Vocals,Background Vocals
Scott Morgan   Percussion
Butch O'Brien   Percussion,Bass Drums
David Oversteak   Tuba
Bob Seger   Percussion
Fred "Sonic" Smith   Organ,Guitar,Harmonica,Keyboards,Vocals,Background Vocals
Dennis Thompson   Percussion,Drums,Tambourine,Vocals
Terry Trabandt   Percussion
Michael Davis   Bass,Vocals,Background Vocals,Group Member
Pete Kelly   Piano

Technical Credits

MC5   Audio Production
Geoffrey Haslam   Producer,Audio Production
Fred "Sonic" Smith   Composer
Dave Marsh   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews