Higher Than Here [Deluxe Edition]

Higher Than Here [Deluxe Edition]

by James MorrisonJames Morrison


$21.84 $22.99 Save 5% Current price is $21.84, Original price is $22.99. You Save 5%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, February 25
4 New & Used Starting at $12.17


In a scene dominated by soulful singer/songwriter guitarists (Ed Sheeran, James Bay, Hozier) and blue-eyed soul crooners (Sam Smith, John Newman), it seems almost unfair that 2015 is the year James Morrison has decided to make his comeback. His sound is perfect for the moment, but after a four-year hiatus, he has to contend with younger upstarts who have amply filled the niche he left after 2011's The Awakening. Morrison's fourth album, Higher Than Here, is a safe collection of soul-folk tunes that is pleasing and enjoyable. Much like Morrison himself, the songs are likeable, but never venture too far from the middle, making much of the album quite vanilla. His voice still carries that gorgeous, husky grit, so full of smoky soul and yearning, most expertly executed on "Stay Like This" and "Just Like a Child." Elsewhere, he ventures into some OneRepublic/Script territory with lead single "Demons," a catchy hip-pop number that should help keep the album afloat in the public consciousness. However, it's a pair of surprising album highlights that lift Higher Than Here to another plane. The rousingly defiant "Right Here" is reminiscent of the best uptempo tracks on Adele's 21 and Sam Smith's debut, while the glimmering disco of "I Need You Tonight" (co-written with Mark Taylor and Paul Barry, the duo responsible for Enrique Iglesias' "Bailamos" and "Hero," as well as Cher's Auto-Tune smash "Believe") has all the trappings of a sure-fire hit. If Morrison wants to reclaim any territory lost in his absence, these songs could do it. Ironically, the sound that helped him land in the top spot on the U.K. charts multiple times may cause him to get lost in the mix. It would serve Morrison well to avoid the middling tracks on this album -- so reminiscent of much of the stuff on the radio in 2015 -- and focus on forging a new musical pathway with even more uptempo jams, which his voice could surely carry. [A Deluxe Edition added "In the Shadow of a Dream," "Naked with You," and "Lonely People."] ~ Neil Z. Yeung

Product Details

Release Date: 11/06/2015
Label: Imports
UPC: 0602547569356
catalogNumber: 3017631
Rank: 35193

Album Credits

Performance Credits

James Morrison   Primary Artist,Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals
Phil Thornalley   Background Vocals
Winston Blissett   Bass Guitar
Tim Bran   Acoustic Guitar,Keyboards
Patrick Clahar   Tenor Saxophone
Sally Herbert   Conductor
Juliet Roberts   Background Vocals
Bruce White   Viola
Julia Singleton   Violin
Everton Nelson   Violin
Adam Phillips   Guitar
Glen Scott   Background Vocals
Ian Burdge   Cello
Martin Terefe   Synthesizer,Acoustic Guitar,Percussion,Piano (Upright)
Harry Brown   Trombone
Eg White   Synthesizer,Piano,Drums,Background Vocals
Leo Abrahams   Guitar
Chris Worsey   Cello
Richard George   Violin
Richard Pryce   Double Bass
Matt Round   Bass Guitar
Fyfe Dangerfield   Keyboards
Quentin Collins   Trumpet
Rachel Robson   Viola
Jon Green   Organ,Bass,Guitar,Piano,Background Vocals,Brass
Simon Aldred   Piano
Malay   Electric Bass,Wurlitzer
Ash Soan   Drums
Jim Eliot   Synthesizer,Guitar,Drums,Keyboards
Mads Hauge   Percussion
Max Baillie   Viola
Mark Taylor   Keyboards
Jonny Lattimer   Piano
Tom Piggott-Smith   Violin
Tom Hull   Acoustic Guitar
Mima Stilwell   Hand Clapping
Tom Meadows   Percussion,Drums
Daniel Houghton   Trumpet
Israel Tomlinson   Background Vocals
Cherelle Braithwaite   Background Vocals
Lorna Vassell   Background Vocals
Tahirah Andrews   Background Vocals
Fred Cox   Organ,Synthesizer,Bass,Guitar,Percussion,Piano,Drums,Keyboards,Background Vocals,fender rhodes,String Keyboard
Nico Bentley   Trombone,Trumpet
Oli Langford   Violin
Seb Rochford   Drums
Frances Dewars   Violin

Technical Credits

Martin Brammer   Composer
Tim Bran   Composer,Programming
James Grant   Composer
Sally Herbert   String Arrangements
Steve Robson   Composer,Producer,Instrumentation
Ren Swan   Engineer
Martin Terefe   Composer
Eg White   Producer
Paul Barry   Composer
Reuben Morgan   Composer
Alex Cowper   Art Direction
James Morrison   Composer,Producer
Jon Green   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Simon Aldred   Composer
Malay   Producer,drum programming
Jim Eliot   Composer,Producer
Mads Hauge   Engineer
Francis White   Composer
Roy Kerr   Composer,Programming
Mark Taylor   Composer,Producer
Ill Blu   Producer
Jonny Lattimer   Composer
Darius Ellington Forde   Composer
Tom Hull   Composer
Mima Stilwell   Composer
Jarrad Rogers   Composer
James Ryan Ho   Composer
Jack Ruston   Engineer
Fred Cox   Composer,Programming,Producer
MyRiot   Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews