Hip Hop: Gold

Hip Hop: Gold


4 New & Used Starting at $23.93


Hip-O's Hip Hop: Gold, which looks a lot like a halved version of the same label's four-disc Hip Hop Box, is one of those garden-variety compilations that matches each good pick with a couple questionable picks that look a lot like lazy blunders. On this double-disc set, you get a few tracks that have appeared on well over 100 titles (such as "Rapper's Delight," "The Message," and "Planet Rock"), along with several others that will someday reach that milestone (such as Rob Base & DJ E-Z Rock's "It Takes Two," Arrested Development's "Tennessee," and Naughty by Nature's "O.P.P."). A few picks make for bizarre representations of the groups in question. How many Public Enemy fans would pick "He Got Game" as one of the group's ten best tracks? Why is EPMD present in the form of "Strictly Business" instead of just about any other form? That said, there's no denying that most of these tracks should be owned by every hip-hop fanatic, or at least any hip-hop fanatic who quit paying attention once the South began to truly rise (unsurprisingly, there are only a few tentative and peculiar tracks picked from the late '90s and early 2000s).

Product Details

Release Date: 04/25/2006
Label: Hip-O Records
UPC: 0602498368442
catalogNumber: 000632002

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Voices Of Shabach Community Choir Of Long Island   Choir, Chorus

Technical Credits

Arrested Development   Composer
Rob Base   Producer
Kurtis Blow   Composer
Naughty by Nature   Producer
Arthur Baker   Producer
Debbie Harry   Composer
Ernie Isley   Composer
Curtis Mayfield   Composer
Joe Sample   Composer
Bernard Edwards   Composer
Hula   Producer
Nile Rodgers   Composer
Chris Jasper   Composer
Bruce Malament   Composer
Domino   Producer
Fingers   Producer
Guru   Producer
Warren G   Producer
3rd Bass   Producer
R. Bell   Composer
Jiggs Chase   Composer,Producer
Chyskillz   Producer
Anthony Criss   Composer
DJ Premier   Producer
Aqil Davidson   Composer
DeBarge   Composer
Keith Elam   Composer
Brian Farrell   Composer
Harvey Fuqua   Composer
Berry Gordy   Composer
Norman Harris   Composer
Ice-T   Composer,Producer
Afrika Islam   Composer,Producer
Marvin Isley   Composer
O'Kelly Isley   Composer
Ronald Isley   Composer
Jam Master Jay   Producer
Darryl McDaniels   Composer
Kevin McKenzie   Composer
Robert "Spike" Mickens   Composer
Alphonso Mizell   Composer
Bryan New   Producer
K. Nix   Composer
Freddie Perren   Composer
Deke Richards   Composer
Teddy Riley   Producer
John Robie   Composer
Sylvia Robinson   Composer
Rick Rubin   Composer,Producer
Keith Shocklee   Producer
Erick Sermon   Composer
Hank Shocklee   Producer
Russell Simmons   Composer,Producer
Parrish Smith   Composer
Speech   Producer
Dennis "D.T." Thomas   Composer
Richard Westfield   Composer
Wayne Williams   Producer
David Wynn   Composer
Dennis Olivieri   Composer
Greg Nice   Producer
William Hamilton   Producer
Paul Huston   Composer
Jason Mizell   Composer,Producer
Lavaba Mallison   Producer
Vincent Mason   Composer
Melvin Glover   Composer
J.B. Moore   Arranger,Composer,Producer
DJ Shadow   Arranger,Producer,Remixing
Eric B.   Producer,Composer
Robert Ginyard   Composer
Larry Smith   Arranger,Composer
Andre "Dres" Titus   Composer,Producer
Al Henderson   Composer
R. Robinson   Composer
Peter Nash   Composer
John Gamble   Composer
William McLean   Composer,Producer
Kristin Callahan   Cover Photo
Tom Terrell   Liner Notes
Michael Benabib   Cover Photo
Janette Beckman   Cover Photo
Dante Ross   Composer
William Griffin   Composer
Kenny McCloud   Producer
Tariq Trotter   Composer
Pharrell Williams   Composer
Michael Berrin   Composer
William Mitchell   Composer
Vinnie Brown   Composer
Dana Owens   Composer
Shawn McKenzie   Composer
Fredro Scruggs   Composer
Soul Sonic Force   Composer
Alton Taylor   Composer
Alice Arnold   Cover Photo
Anthony Henry   Composer
will.i.am   Producer
Neptunes   Producer
Kay Gee   Producer
Chad Hugo   Composer
Battlecat   Producer
Pat Lawrence   Executive Producer
Mike "Mad Mike" Smith   Producer
J.T. Martinez   Composer
C. Scruggs   Composer
Chris E. Martin   Composer
Period   Producer
Nathaniel Hale   Composer
Ernie Paniccioli   Cover Photo
Cody ChesnuTT   Composer,Producer
Ryan Null   Photo Coordination
Kelvin Mercer   Composer
Robert Arthur Ford   Producer
Joseph Simmons   Composer,Producer
Mohandas Dewese   Composer
Lonnie Lynn   Composer
Josh Davis   Composer
Phillip Hall   Composer
Smooth Bee   Producer
Edward Fletcher   Composer,Producer
MC Wonder Mike   Author
SD50 Stimulated Dummies   Producer
Claydes Smith   Composer
Steven Howse   Composer
James Yancey   Composer
William Adams   Composer
Bryon McCane   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews