A History of Wales

A History of Wales

by John Davies


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Stretching from the Ice Ages to the present day, this masterful account traces the political, social and cultural history of the land that has come to be called Wales. Spanning prehistoric hill forts and Roman ruins to the Reformation, the Industrial Revolution and the series of strikes by Welsh miners in the late twentieth century, this is the definitive history of an enduring people: a unique and compelling exploration of the origins of the Welsh nation, its development and its role in the modern world. This new edition brings this remarkable history into the new era of the Welsh Assembly.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780140284751
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 06/22/2007
Edition description: Revised
Pages: 736
Sales rank: 362,110
Product dimensions: 5.08(w) x 7.76(h) x 1.39(d)
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

John Davies is a native of the Rhondda. He was educated in schools in Treorci, Bwlchllan and Tregaron and at University College, Cardiff, and Trinity College, Cambridge. He taught at the University Colleges of Swansea and Aberystwyth and was for eighteen years the Warden of Neuadd Pantycelyn, Aberystwyth. His other publications include Cardiff and the Marquesses of Bute, Hanes Cymru, Broadcasting and the BBC in Wales, The Making of Wales, The Celts and Cardiff: a Pocket Guide. He is the consultant editor of The Encyclopaedia of Wales. His wife comes from Blaenau Gwent and they have two daughters and two sons.

Table of Contents

List of Maps and Diagrams
Preface to the Original (Welsh) Edition xi
Preface to the Translation xv
Further Reading xvii
The Beginnings: Paviland, Tinkinswood and Llyn Cerrig Bach
Wales and Rome: Caer-went, Whitton and Segontium
400--800: Dinas Powys, Catraeth and Llantwit Major
800--1282: Aberffraw, Dinefwr and Mathrafal
1282--1530: Rhuddlan, Sycharth and Penmynydd
1530--1770: Ludlow, Gwydir and Llangeitho
1770--1850: Holywell, Dowlais and Llanover
1850--1914: The Rhondda, Aberystwyth and Bethesda
1914--39: The Somme, Brynmawr and Penyberth
Wales since 1939: Cardiff, Margam and Tryweryn
Index 687

Customer Reviews